At my wit's end. in Since OD is shutting down....

  • Nov. 12, 2022, 2:08 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

My daughter has really been struggling in school where she’s been violent with other students. I don’t know if it’s just a mix of the nostalgia of school starting, her Dad was around briefly or only child syndrome but she’s now been suspended from the after school program and can’t be there on Monday. I have done everything I can to be supportive, understanding, and give her positive reinforcement. I have bought her special toys and treats for when she’s had good days and bought her fast food. After this week where she hit a kid in the mouth with a ball and busted his lip and then yesterday where she kicked a kid in the neck and had to be picked up immediately, she got a spanking.

I don’t feel good about spanking my child because I don’t feel that you are going to be successful fighting violence with violence. I have told her for a month now that we just can’t be hurting other kids and she is going to be very upset when she can’t go back to the after school program. She’s now said she doesn’t want to be there but I know she does. I also am not sure if other kids are maybe teasing her and the adults just aren’t seeing it but I’m just so stressed about this because every day I’m getting reports that her behavior is absolutely awful.

Things have definitely been pretty stressful lately. I have been to several job interviews and have not had much luck finding a job where I don’t have to work nights or weekends. I interviewed with a super nice lady on Monday to work in a flower shop and yesterday I got the text saying they picked a different person because I have small child. I honestly feel that it’s discrimination but not much you can do. I was upset but because I started to panic worrying I was not going to find employment anywhere because I have a child.

We were at the store this morning and I got hired where I had an interview on Wednesday. I’m honestly pretty excited but stressed because I know there’s going to be times where I will need my Mom to hang out with my kid while I’m at work. This bothers me because then the stress of getting along with my Mom is nerve wracking. Hopefully it’ll all work out and I’m going to keep in mind that someday my daughter will be able to be home alone. I won’t need a sitter forever.


This entry only accepts private comments.

No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.