Bucket List in Things To Do

Revised: 01/27/2016 2:52 p.m.

  • June 23, 2014, 1:03 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

June 22, 2014

10:21pm

I’ve been trying to come up with a good first entry for this site for months. After the demise of OD it was very difficult to get used to the idea of a new place. I liked the idea of a ‘fresh start’ but that’s still a daunting task. What kind of impression do I want to make? How can I be the real me without censoring? There were just so many thoughts. And because I’m a huge procrastinator, I just waited.

The site’s started to grow on me though. I recognize a lot of the old names and it’s felt very similar to our old space. So I guess it’s probably time I learn how to create “books” and type up entries. I’ve actually been writing this entire time, but it’s all saved in draft folders and on the computer desktop. Maybe I’ll go and start back-dating entries. At least for this year. I mean, I was already behind on OD, but this fresh start sounds nice now.

That brings me to today’s entry. I’ll go ahead and start it all off with my list of 50 things to do before I die. “Bucket List” for short. Although I started it before the movie, the name makes sense. [I know there aren’t 50 things yet, it’s an ongoing list…]

Enjoy.

50 Things To Do Before I Die
[In no particular order]

May 4, 2006
50. Learn to surf
49. Swim with sharks
48. Go to Europe
47. Finish college Completed December 17, 2010
46. Live in Boston
45. Learn to skateboard
44. Visit all 7 continents
43. Take professional pictures for a magazine (as a photographer not model)
42. Find classic car and restore it
41. Visit all 50 states – 32/50 –
- WA, OR, CA, NV, UT, CO, KS, MS, AR, LA, OK, AZ, NM, TX, HI, WI, IL, GA, TN
[2016 ->] MN, ND, SD, NE, IA, & FL [2017 ->] IN [2018 ->] KY, NC, SC, VA, WV, OH
40. Watch a hockey game (live)
39. Climb a mountain
38. Learn to play guitar

May 10, 2006
37. Take a Hot Air Balloon ride
36. Ferry ride

June 31, 2006
35. Ride in a limo Completed May 15, 2009 during Vegas Birthday Bash

July 15, 2006
34. Travel Route 66 (hopefully in that restored car)

January 23, 2008
33. Bungee Jump off a Bridge
32. Go to the Opera

January 25, 2008
31. Spend a decent amount of time in Seattle (in the rain)

January 26, 2008
30. Get that tattoo I’ve always wanted
29. Drink in a pub in Ireland (water, if I’m still straight edge ha) {<—definitely not going to drink water anymore}

February 23, 2008
28. Go fishing in the early morning hours
27. Learn to fly an airplane

March 28, 2008
26. Take a road trip on the back of a motorcycle
25. Go scuba diving (maybe deep sea diving)
24. Volunteer/work at a Zoo and/or Aquarium

June 27, 2008
23. Spend an entire summer living by the ocean

May 9, 2009
22. Go on a Safari adventure
21. See a waterfall up close and personal
20. Go sledding down the perfect hill

November 15, 2009
19. Skate on a frozen pond
18. Watch wild horses in their natural habitat
17. Witness a caterpillar turning into a butterfly
16. Follow sea turtles on their trip from egg to ocean

March 10, 2010
15. Spend a night watching shooting stars
14. Visit a drive-in theater

June 16, 2010
13. See the Northern Lights
12. Watch a thunderstorm in the desert

November 11, 2017
11. See the snow flakes fall all around me
[this should have been added a long time ago. Honestly I thought it was on here and only just now realized it was one of those things I kept forgetting.] *Completed Christmas Eve 2017 in Wisconsin! As absolutely beautiful as I had ever imagined it would be!

December 14, 2017
10. Soak in a natural hot springs

I’m realizing now that most of these things involve either animals or nature. That probably says a lot about me. All the other things in life seem so trivial and materialistic. I want to see what the world has to offer. This has never been a list of little life goals like: “don’t be quick to anger”, or “spend less money, or “get married”. Those aren’t things I want to do once before I die [ok…except the marriage thing. that should only be once. I hope…] but just all the bigger moments that I might not be able to repeat. The little things should be every day, not once in a lifetime.

So we’ll see where this goes from here. I hope I’ll be able to accomplish a lot of these in the next few years. They’re the kind of moments I’d be on my death bed, assuming I don’t die instantly & out of the blue, regretting if I never get around to them.

I’d definitely recommend making a list of your own. It’s been a fun and interesting process.

rose.
10:52pm

1.27.16 I came in here to do some updating [mostly on #41] and apparently also had to update/remove all the html tags. Who knew how advanced this site had gotten since I first posted. hah! Just thought I’d mention that…

8.22.16 In to update again. We just completed our 5 new states in 4 days road trip so I updated the list accordingly. God willing we will also be hitting Florida this year so that’ll come shortly. We’re making good progress!
I always feel like I have new items to add to the list, but every time I actually come in here I completely forget what they are. I’m going to have to try to remember to write it down next time it comes to mind. Until next time…

1.5.19 So apparently I updated this in December 2017 but I’m not even sure what I changed. I didn’t even leave any words. haha. I was looking for inspiration for this year and realized it was missing things, especially the states list [up to 32/50!] and crossing out #11. So that’s what I’m here for now. :)


Last updated January 05, 2019


tragicgalaxy June 23, 2014

Great list!

Valyn Aporia June 24, 2014

Great list, and great to see you finally writing!! I have a long list like this myself, and some of these overlap. Maybe I'll post mine one day. It's written in a paper journal from a couple of years ago. Probably around 100 items on it.

Medisinn June 27, 2014

Hey, you finally wrote an entry! Cool beans. It is a big beautiful world out there. I can't say my bucket list would be even close to the same but I can appreciate your goals.

Medisinn January 29, 2016

Yeah, I don't know when they made it so you don't need HTML tags either. Pretty handy though. OR, WA, CA, NV, AZ, FL, OH, MI, IL, IN, TN, AL...I might be missing one or two. Thought I had been to more, hmm.

+.:hidden-feelings:. Medisinn ⋅ January 29, 2016

That's still a pretty good total! I'm trying to see if I can fly to the East Coast this year and maybe rent a car. You can basically hit 10+ states in two days [whereas it takes me an entire day just to get out of CA haha], so I can make major progress on the goal :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.