I'd ask what Worf would do, but I fathom it would be something involving a mek'leth. in The Napkin.

  • Oct. 29, 2022, 10:08 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

My grandfather was a cook in the Navy during WWII in the pacific theater. My dad was in ‘Nam. Me? Went to anti-war rallies after 9/11.

As a generational progression, it kind of flows.

My grandpa was always proud of his service, and rightfully so. You gotta understand that he would say he was a cook in the Navy. Grandma said that, apparently, he was also a gunner. I wish I knew what ship he served on, though I bet there are records and stuff.

My dad almost never mentions he’s a veteran. He mentioned that sometimes he’s asked whether he watches documentaries on Vietnam. He responds curtly, “Why would I? I was there.” In fact, in an insane twist, my dad described ‘Nam as a summer camp. He said that the only real danger was on the razor’s edge. (He was in artillery.)

He’s not wrong. I give my dad a lot of crap, but it’s a very sane, reasonable perspective.

I’ve had to correct my dad on tipping over the years, but want to know something? He has never, not once asked for a “veteran’s discount”. Even as he’s aged into very-much senior discount range, it’s very much a “hey, it’s there” attitude. I’ll be very much the same way. On the rare occasions he inquires about a senior discount, he’s chill if they don’t do one.

And you know I call my dad out if he pulls stupid shit, so yeah, I’ll back him up on his behavior on this one.

So yeah, as a retail slave, I’ve had people ask for veterans discounts. This place requires a card that a lot of people have. Just a tax-exempt thing. Okay, whatever. The ‘Bell had a senior discount button that I would use liberally, because screw corporate.

But it’s interesting the type of person that gets indignant. It’s always the right-leaning. They proclaim “I’m a veteran.” as if that’s supposed to mean something. They posture in such a way to imply “I’m a victim, I deserve compensation.”

Oh sure, that’s not what they think they’re doing. They want submission. They want to feel better than others. But all I see is someone who needs to visit Veteran Affairs and seek mental health help..


In semi-related news, apparently my bullshit buffer is operating within established parameters. Which seriously means my mental health is better this year. Much better than last year.

Word of advice if you’re in these situations: Just let them speak. Won’t lie, I think it was pissing him off that I was just letting him shoot his mouth off. Because it meant he had no power over me. But also? It’s always 5th grade. If you don’t say anything, there’s no material to be used against you. If you don’t respond, they haven’t won.

May you be treated with respect and honor during these horrible months to come.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.