#bestbelllife in Whey and Sonic Screwdrivers.

  • Oct. 26, 2022, 4:55 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

The air was crisp when I stepped outside to check the mail. It caught me almost off-guard. I work evenings, so I’m used to darting out in the morning or early afternoon. I’m not into the dressing-up or pop goth culture surrounding the month. But I do like cooler temperatures. I can still get by clad in my cargo shorts and flip-flops, but yes I will acknowledge it’s hoodie weather.

I miss wearing my hoodie 9 months out of the year.

I try whenever I can to stop, just stop whenever I have a moment. I had been dragging my feet, as typically happens when I have a day off from work. Regardless of what session I have planned. Today was leg day, and well.

alt text

One does not simply skip leg day.

All the squat racks were taken, oh well. I’m not so green as to get butthurt over that. Deadlift day, I have to deadlift. But I’m VERY MUCH winging my progression, so whatever. So I hit hip thrusts hard, and then um maxed out the leg extension machine.

Timmy, wtf do you mean you maxed out the leg extension machine?

In my 15 years or so of lifting, I’ve favored the methodology of compound movements and building your base. And well, while I still can get some stronger, I think my base is built. So, screw it. Train the accessories.

Though, to be honest, part of why I have avoided things like curls and leg extensions is because I don’t like the burn.

This was my third week with leg extension in my weekly routine. I thought I’d add weight gradually, but realized I was way stronger than I was performing. I was pausing every rep at the top, unlike most people who just fling the weight. Last week I used 100 lbs. Because good form and not ego-lifting.

alt text

Look. Squats/deadz transfer to other lifts, but not necessarily the other way around. It’s that simple. My recent bests are squat 1 @ 265 lbs, and deadlift 3 @ 355 lbs. So, I just assumed my posterior chain is rock solid and my quads might need work.

Not necessarily. Glutes are solid. Quads are apparently solid. That leaves what is most people’s weak point: hamstrings. Going to spend the rest of the year hammering my hammies.


I hit up Taco Bell. Because I like Taco Bell in a non-funny, non-sarcastic way. I like something.

alt text

At least I’m not overthinking my day off. Not yet, anyway. I still miss playing video games, designating zone-out time. But eh. My life is work, lifting, eating, and sleeping. It’s… existing.

It’s what we all do.

So if I have a moment I’m not engulfed in flames, yeah, I’ll pause.

I know, I use strong language - it’s not that I’m always in some state of despair. It’s that taking the preemptive steps to stave off the demons, well. It’s work. So to step outside, just as dusk is setting in. To feel content. A nice worknight yesterday after being short four people on Sunday. To find myself potentially having a crush on a new employee. (Shut up.) To solve my gym stagnation problem by going to the gym more.

To feel content, if only for a moment. It’s nice knowing it’s possible.

Anyways, as I fashion myself as Gandalf the Black, something I’ve been saying a lot recently is “Don’t agree with someone else’s depression.”


PepperGrape October 27, 2022

You are my fave.

Timmy™ PepperGrape ⋅ October 28, 2022

Don't know why.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.