Contractual Obligation. in Whey and Sonic Screwdrivers.

  • Oct. 15, 2022, 9:45 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

So, Melinda was texting me yesterday about how she couldn’t get the car she wanted without a cosigner. And me being me, I half-heartenedly said something like yeah, I’d help you.

Uh, oops, she called my bluff.

Not that it was a bluff. Moreso that cosigning on a car in a Big Adult Thing. And you know my low self-esteem. Me? Little ol’ me can be considered Adult enough to help out?

She caught me before my shift yesterday so I had a night to sleep on it anyway.

Slept on it and couldn’t think of how to talk myself out of it. Decided that since we work together (I’m evening manager, she’s day manager), she’s good for making her payments. And for the price of my name on the title of her car, I’ll passive get a credit boost.

I feel trusted.

Oh. Credit scores are like salary. You’re not supposed to share it, but you really should. I glanced. My credit’s at 665. Hers is at 605. Yeah, my name’s on top. I’m not special, but it’s also not terrible credit.

A google doesn’t help. Average? Okay, consider what average means in terms of credit score. Remember: 50% of people are below average intelligence.

Whatever,. My life compressed into a number is apparently good enough to help her get a car.

Nice to see her manically happy rather than manically bitching. The car has all these modern bells and whistles that I wouldn’t want at all in a car. But, she’s happy. (Remember kids, Timmy drives stick.)

Oh. I know it’s probably counter-intuitive, but I’m doing this because we’re not dating. Dating muddies the waters. So. I guess we’re going to be friends for at least the next six years. HA HA.

There are worse impulsive things to do, I guess. “impulsive things”. I’ll remember this the next time I want to contrast kid impulsivity and adult impulsivity.

I know, I know. I’m too nice. I see people that need help, and I do what I can. To a fault. If this ends up biting me, better to have lived and tried. But I doubt it. Down the road, I’ll need to buy a new car. Someday. And having her car payment on my credit history is gravy.

Not to mention, since this wasn’t my stress, I was able to sit-in on all her paperwork. Because signage. If this were me buying a car, I’d be nervous. But. Just going through the experience means when I finally retire Clarissa Clutch, it’ll be easier. Dude, I’m older than some of the sales guys. When the hell did this happen? And as much as I pride myself in my feminine side, I so consciously handshaked a little tighter than usual.

There are times when you gotta code Man. Annoying, but whatever.

Anyway, think that covers that. At least I’m useful to someone.


Last updated October 15, 2022


Sleepy-Eyed John October 15, 2022

Hope you don't get burned

Timmy™ Sleepy-Eyed John ⋅ October 15, 2022

Aye. Trust goes both ways.

AnOrangeZebra October 18, 2022

<3

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.