What I Don't Miss... in These Foolish Things

  • Oct. 14, 2022, 1:19 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

…about Corporate America (even though I really need a job at this point), is the unexpected dragging out of meetings now that travel restrictions are being lifted at companies and meetings are being held face to face.

My dear friend and former co-worker, C. is in town for a big, big customer meeting. She has always worked remotely at my former company (in sales and covers national accounts so she can live pretty much anywhere and chooses to live in Denver). So she’s in town for a big customer meeting with a giant international retailer that you would know, and she had told me when she was planning this meeting weeks ago that she might have an evening free so wanted to pencil in tonight for dinner and a girls night. I asked her to come spend the night with me at The Treehouse so we could really take our time catching up.

Well. It’s now 7:15pm and she’s still in the freaking meeting!

Unfortunately, it seems that either the customer wants to make up for lost face-to-face time or they’ve forgotten how to have constructive and timely meetings.

Regardless, it’s rude and bullshit and it reminds me of what dickheads they were at my old company. I feel like there’s some massive grandstanding happening.

I thought maybe some lessons about work life balance were learned from our Covid days, but I must have been mistaken.

Anyway. I’m hungry and getting grumpy, but I know when I finally see C. I’m going to be thrilled!!

Until then, harumph. Corporate America can suck it.
GS


Jinn October 14, 2022

Corporate America is about as dishonest as Congress.

Ginger Snap Jinn ⋅ October 14, 2022

Suuuucks.

Jinn Ginger Snap ⋅ October 15, 2022

:-(

Complicated Disaster October 14, 2022

Thankfully although my company loves meetings people are mostly strict on timings. Xx

Ginger Snap Complicated Disaster ⋅ October 14, 2022

That's good. It's so much more respectful.

Complicated Disaster Ginger Snap ⋅ October 14, 2022

It is. Plus everyone always has another call to go to! Xx

Palmtreesandzebras October 14, 2022

It's so frustrating! My company loves a meeting, but at least when scheduled for an hour it is truly an hour. They are anti remote though. So anti remote it's almost funny. I like my job and my commute but I just minding my time until I can land a remote job that allows me to live in the woods.

Ginger Snap Palmtreesandzebras ⋅ October 14, 2022

Yeah, I don't mind the face to face meetings - I just can't handle the abuse of time!

Fawkes Gal October 14, 2022

Corporate America most definitely can suck it.

Ginger Snap Fawkes Gal ⋅ October 14, 2022

Thank you!

Parliament October 14, 2022

We RE-OPENED an office in KS at the request of a VP. For 10 people. Most of us don't work with one another. Still, it's the old guard. They can't seem to realize how much time is lost during commutes, during business trips, etc. SO MUCH WASTED TIME. And they all still want to have drinks after a day of meetings and go to dinner. It all makes me so angry. AND I WORK IN TECHNOLOGY!!!!!!

plushcreep October 18, 2022

I just don't understand Corporate America's need for constant meetings. Every job I've ever had - and there have been quite a few the past few years - has featured meetings every week just because. There were two a week at CenturyCo. Three a week at TobacCo. Stop the insanity!

(In all fairness, the thrice-weekly TobacCo meetings are very brief...sometimes only 10-12 minutes, so I shouldn't really complain about those.)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.