Intensity. in The Napkin.

  • Oct. 11, 2022, 3:39 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

How emotionally intense are guys?

I obviously wouldn’t know, as I don’t date guys. I’m aware that I’m capable of some next-level intensity. I don’t think it’s for everyone. But. I’m also aware of the trope that guys are emotionally repressed.

Uh, that’s not me. It’s a balance of awareness of my mental state and only intentionally leaking what is necessary. Because left unchecked, I BLATHER LIKE HELL.

I’ve met women who have… nothing much under the surface. Or, so it seems. Not for lack of intelligence. Or maybe there just wasn’t anything to express at that time. Not having some deep underbelly isn’t a red flag. I just take note of those that are always emoting.

With my depression, I try not to get caught up in the minute details too much. No, really. I try to stick to the derivative of my moods. Most of the time, I am actually okay. It’s just that any introspection is a tricky slide. I try to be cool most of the time.

alt text

I have enough perception to be able to tell you exactly what you need to hear. And no, not in some lying sort of way. Of knowing what I want to express, and using my words to reach past the barriers and into your brainz.

Yeah, difficult to give an example in a vacuum, so I won’t try.


Oh, I jotted that down and wandered from my keyboard. Here’s a meme I made. Be safe out there, kids. Use condoms.

alt text


gattaca October 11, 2022

I am Spock.

Fawkes Gal October 11, 2022

I think many men are exceptionally emotionally intense once they get in a romantic relationship with someone, because of that emotional repression. Men aren't "supposed" to share their feelings (What are you, a pussy?) or cultivate close relationships with male friends (What are you, a fag?), or be emotionally close to their parents (What are you, a mama's boy?), so the only person left for them to be emotional with who is considered "OK" according to these stupid "rules" is a romantic interest.

Timmy™ Fawkes Gal ⋅ October 11, 2022

You're right, K. Even platonic female friends are rarities. Clearly a guy is interested in more. Clearly she wants more.

I'm grateful to those who have listened. I'm not against sharing with guys, but my psychological background makes it very difficult. So hard to connect with guys. HOW DO YOU LADIES DO IT. ; )

Fawkes Gal Timmy™ ⋅ October 11, 2022

Honestly? Very carefully, and with a lot of doubt. ~laughs~ The amount of male friends I had when I was teenager/twenty-something, that I later found out were actually interested in me was disheartening. It was sad to learn that so many guys who I thought saw me as a friend, really saw me as a conquest. Luckily this happens less as you get older and become less stereotypically desirable.

Timmy™ Fawkes Gal ⋅ October 12, 2022

I've been equally surprised when female friends have later told me "Yeah, I so would have xyz with you." Missed connections and stuff, because guess what, it's not always not on my radar like that.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.