My mother's handwriting & January 3, 1961 in These titles mean nothing.

  • Sept. 30, 2022, 8:03 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

January 3, 1961 - 10:15 P.M. - Desk

Today was a pretty big day. School isn’t really too bad after all.

During English class we were to write a piece of creative writing. I wrote on ‘1961 The Upsidedown Year’. Sister read it and said it would make a good editorial for the Scroll. She told me to work on it. Later before noon she stopped by my desk and told me to see her after school. After school she was too busy to talk too me; she just told me to work on it. I suppose that is the end of the shortest literary career on record.

Theresa G. had the cutest outfit. A tan bulky knit cardigan, red and brown plaid on tan, box-pleated skirt, tan knee socks, and black fur=trimmed boots.

The science term paper is due Friday. I haven’t started. I have a book home on my subject, the Moon, which I’ll have to read and make some notes.

Tom had his car on the top of a hill. Some joker pushed it down into the county barns. We gave him several pushes and finally the car started. As I always say no car can be depended upon to start like a Chevy.

Mike had a short but serious illness this evening. When I got home he had a ‘headache’. He was lying on the couch. Mike had almost fired his two eggs when he decided he’d have an aspirin instead. He didn’t eat any supper but gobbled down everything in sight as soon as the dishes were done.

I wore my blue sweater and skirt today. Mommy said I looked like a fashionable teenager (deliver me). L.and S. complimented me and M got off her pedestal and said a kind word.

There was a card from Father K on the bulletin board.

=====

A Tribute to an Un-Sung Cow

There should be an award to Roany, of that I’m sure. She probably doesn’t give a record amount of milk but what she gives goes a long way. You see, she is the only cow we milk in the winter and her milk is priceless. This fall she gave us a bonus in the form of twin calves. But her milk is utilized to the last ounce.

The two cats get a little whole milk and the household gets between a cup and a pint. Then the milk is separated. The skim milk is divided between the calves. Cream for coffee and cereal is saved and the rest goes in the can. Last two weeks our check was $7.20. By-products are foam for the cats and warm milky rinse water for the pigs.

January 3, 1961 - 10:45 P.M. - Desk


Last updated September 30, 2022


Jinn September 30, 2022

So interesting. I found a journal of my Mother’s during her highschool years in a box of old pictures and papers . She seemed so innocent then. It was mostly an account of her clothes, friends and social life . Not much in the way of deep thinking going on :-) but that sort of was my Mother as I knew her when she was well ; preoccupied with her appearance and intensely social. She could charm the birds out of the trees when she set her mind to it . A true chameleon socially ; she could fit in seamlessly , no matter where she was. I am sure her mental illness did not manifest itself until her late 20’s ( after the tumultuous divorce from my Father ) and she fought it intermittently the rest of her life. I treasure that journal just to know a less tragic time she lived through. How I wish that cheerful , idealistic girl would have had a happier life .

noko September 30, 2022 (edited September 30, 2022)

Edited

It is like your mother had a bullet journal. Glad you got notice of your writing in school and Teresa’s outfit sounds like it would be admired today as well.

Beret September 30, 2022

Ahhh, so it's your mother's handwriting. Fascinatin.

NorthernSeeker October 04, 2022

Your mother had beautiful handwriting.

Serin October 11, 2022

Your mom's writing is so beautiful

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.