Bad Idea in These Foolish Things

  • Sept. 30, 2022, 2:14 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I was missing a few of my former work colleagues, and it was supposed to be a beautiful evening, so I invited a couple of the ol’ workmates to a happy hour. The plan was, I’d come close to the office (far out of my own way) to meet at a fun after work spot and catch up.

Big mistake.

Two people showed up. And while I really like these two people, of course we talked about work stuff (that’s what happens when you go to HH with work peeps), and the inevitable happened.

Yes, we talked about lighter things - a bit of personal news and talks of vacations and such, but then we talked about what was going on in my old area and the new person who is now running my former business. I won’t go into detail, but the department is a shambles and everything has fallen apart and nobody knows what to do or how to do it. Truth be told, all of the knowledge disappeared when former Boss fired Negative C. and then Easy E. retired and then my engineer retired and then they let me go. That’s literally 80+ years of knowledge and experience that went poof over the last two years.

The old colleagues did not come right out and say it, but of course my name is being slandered because I’m no longer there. That’s just naturally what happens when a finger needs to be pointed and blame has to go somewhere. Of course it’s the asshole (me!) who used to work in the area that’s floundering - she fucked up the whole business unit!

And I spent some effort trying to save face, but that is a game you simply can’t win when you’re no longer employed and can’t really defend yourself. The deed’s already been done and the blame has been cast. Why even try? I deflated rather quickly, choosing withdrawal after a shaky attempt at an explanation that nobody even gives a crap about.

It’s over and I’m long gone.

I ended up feeling gross yet relieved I’m no longer there and I don’t have to see 99% of those people anymore.

The other 1%, I’m happy to hang out with again and have invited that one single friend to do a colon cancer walk with me next month. She said she would if her grandson doesn’t have a soccer game.

We have agreed NOT to talk about work ever again.

Bluh,
GS


Satine September 30, 2022 (edited September 30, 2022)

Edited

Ugh - it was a nice thought at least. And yeah - it's a constant in any workplace that for a full year after anyone leaves for whatever reason, whatever can be blamed on them will be! But you did a great job so anyone not totally in denial knows what's up. It's actually a huge compliment to you that they can't hold it together now.

Deleted user September 30, 2022

Corporate America is evil. It just is.

Jinn September 30, 2022

It proves you can never go home again. :-( Not work home anyway. When a workplace goes downhill they always have to blame it on someone; it’s easier if that someone is not around. :-(

Ginger Snap Jinn ⋅ September 30, 2022

Yeah. Not like that anyway.

Complicated Disaster September 30, 2022

Haha. Blaming ex-coworkers is a classic symptom of a broken system! Xx

Ginger Snap Complicated Disaster ⋅ September 30, 2022

Yeah. This company is notorious for it, and I wish I'd thought of that earlier.

Complicated Disaster Ginger Snap ⋅ September 30, 2022

That's their problem now, not yours! xx

Parliament September 30, 2022

Not your circus, not your monkeys. If you were still there, they'd be blaming you AND you'd be stressed to the max.

Ginger Snap Parliament ⋅ September 30, 2022

You are soooo right. Honestly, I'd be holding things together by a shoestring, just like I had been doing for over two years. I shudder to think about it and I'm still glad I'm gone - even without another job!

Lux Lunae October 01, 2022

I'm not a fan of blaming people who are not there to defend themselves. Sorry you had to sit through that :(

pandora October 02, 2022

OMG fuck that. I wish you didn't know (but I guess it's inevitable sometimes).

sudare October 04, 2022

You spend a lot of time at your workplace. The place should be friendly to you.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.