Gratitude in Journal

  • Sept. 24, 2022, 12:06 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

DH is the handyman of handymen. He replaced ALL the shoddy old plumbing in our house with 3/4” copper for under $200. Even with today’s hyperinflated costs. He’s getting ready to install a new tankless water heater, too. And this weekend he’s replacing my brakes. Which, brakes are pretty simple maintenance thing but the rotors and calipers are bad as well.
We didn’t have hot water for a week and then no water at all for a couple days last week while he was working on it. He finished the last bit on Thursday last week and I can tell you the feeling of deep gratitude was immense. I felt like celebrating. Not just because we had something more than before, but because his pride and accomplishment in really * making a difference in our lives* is something to honor. I feel so thankful for his contributions, which compliment my own so well.

We bought a quarter beef from someone else for the fist time, ever. We’ve always raised our own- at least for the last decade or so, which is pretty much my adult life. It seems very strange, but I’m happy to have a full freezer again. We were getting low on beef, if not meat as the rabbits keep us pretty well stocked on their own.
Minor annoyance last week was when the woman I sold a nice junior doe to complaining and whining after purchase that she didn’t come with a full pedigree. Like, lady, you bought a meat rabbit. A really nice one at that. They are for eating. You can’t eat a pedigree. Her main complaint seemed to be that she couldn’t register the doe. Which I suppose, if you’re showing or trying to buy and sell pedigreed stock it’s one thing. But I was upfront that it was a meat mix. I hate pandering to people just so I don’t get a bad review. It’s a complete waste of time and energy.

DH brought up a name for our new baby that he discarded the first time around. I was surprised, and pointed it out. He said it had just sort of grown on him. Our first’s name is, well, perfect if I dare say and will be difficult to match. I think we’ve come up with strong contenders for either gender, as we won’t find out until the end what baby’s gender is. I’m very excited. 2 boys will be so much fun, but I really want a girl as well. Plenty of time for all that once baby is here, though.

Someone kindly referred me to a photo upload site that I have neglected to check out yet (thanks and sorry, lol) but I’ve finished several very cool projects lately. I made a batik for Michaelmas-which is hanging in our window now
alt text
- a wool knitted fox hooded cowl for our son,
alt textand am currently about halfway through a cardigan. It looks absolutely fantastic if I’m so bold. Most of that is probably the nice yarn I bought for it. Can’t wait to have him try it on :)


Last updated September 26, 2022


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.