That was easy! in A small but passable life.

  • Sept. 18, 2022, 12:28 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

The check cleared on the 10th. Starlink said look for delivery within two weeks. FedEx dropped the Starlink on my porch yesterday. I borrowed a ladder from my neighbor, set the unit on the roof of the carport, fed the cable under the eave into the attic, drilled a hole through the ceiling into a cabinet, fed the cable down into cabinet, coiled the excess cable up (it comes with a 75 foot cable with fixed plugs on both ends) and left the excess in the cabinet, plugged the cable into the router, plugged the router into the wall, and logged on.

The shipping weight was 23.20 lbs. Definitely portable.

The fastest speed I’ve seen so far has been 64.7Mbps download and 6.00Mbps upload. And it has gotten faster over time. That is faster speed than is offered by any service provider in this area at any price. There are no data caps or speed throttling like some other providers are using to squeeze more money out of customers.

One cool and useful thing Starlink has is an app with all kinds of real time stats and historical stats to peruse.

The unit seems to be orienting itself to point more straight up rather than more to the north like it was when first booted up. Over time it should settle to pointing straight up as more satellites are launched and come online.

Now, time to buy a smart TV? A 50”, 55”, 60”, or 65”? There are three TV’s on the premises right now. There is the 32” in the living room hooked to the DVD/VCR player and an over-the-air antennae. There is the 20” in Mom’s bedroom with an over-the-air antennae. And I have the 24” out here I use sometimes with an HDMI cable to watch movies or youtube from my laptop.

I don’t subscribe to any streaming services. It has been over a decade since I’ve watched any regular TV programming.

I’ve named my new wifi network “HAL9000”. I’ve set the laptop, the phone, the Kindle, and the tablet to connect automatically.

Next on the list (there’s always the list) is the solar fed battery back-up system. Right now I’m looking at the Anker 757 and three Renogy 100W solar panels. Plug and play and fairly portable. Not quite $2000.

So yeah, that’s all I’ve got.

Prosebox fucking up this morning?


Last updated September 18, 2022


Jinn September 18, 2022

It was but it seems fixed now.
“ Hal “ ; that made me laugh.

woman in the moon September 18, 2022

god I have NO tv. I watch my pathetic youtubes from midnight to 5 am on my rather small laptop screen.
just asked son where we would put a 65 incher and he said where it always was - at the end of the kitchen where the plate rack is between the closet door and the stair door. ok. guess that's settled.

Pickled Duck Lips September 19, 2022

I will have to look into this Starlink thing for my place when I move up there. Probably not as handy as you are setting it up, but it might be worth it.

Pickled Duck Lips September 19, 2022

Crap, I just checked. They expect service to be available in that area in 2023. They say I can put a deposit down now of 99 bucks. You think I should do it?

Neogy Titwhistle Pickled Duck Lips ⋅ September 19, 2022

It would be perfect for your hideout. The $99 deposit goes toward the initial price. It should come when they say it will. I signed up and they sent me updates until they finally asked if I was ready to order. Your place would be simple to set up. Find open sky, set it down, plug it in, run the cable into the house, plug it in. Done. Oh, and you can always ask for the deposit back anytime. And, after you get the unit you have a 30 day no questions asked total refund possibility. I say go for it. There is also a slightly higher priced RV plan that apparently gives you the option of turning service on and off.

Pickled Duck Lips Neogy Titwhistle ⋅ September 21, 2022

I think that might be the way to go, unless they ran high speed cable up that way. Rumor has it that they did, just don't know which company.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.