Messy Room Irritation in In My World

  • June 17, 2014, 2:58 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I came today to write about something that's really been irritating me. I will type up a proper update either today or tomorrow I just really need to get something off of my chest.

I have been spending a lot of time at my friends house because she and I have adopted this dog together. He lives at her house but comes to mine about once a week. I have been at her house a lot to be with our dog. That's not any kind of problem, I like being here.

Here's the thing, though. She has a really messy room. Some of it's trash, some of it's dishes, some of it is just junk and then there is just stuff. We spent an ENTIRE day cleaning the day before we got the dog and only got about half done. Half done, mind you, is about 4 trash bags of trash and about 3 or so more of nothing but soda cans. There were half drank soda cans everywhere. We were pouring them out into this bucket because there is no sink upstairs. That wasn't the bad part, though. The bad part was that some of these cans were months old and had quite a bit of mold in them. It smelled horrible. That wasn't really a big deal, though. There were wrappers everywhere, too. Food trash. Dirty dishes. A corner of the room is floor to ceiling with stuff. (some trash, some not) One trash bag that was already in the room had something in it that leaked that I had to use rubber gloves and lysol cleaner (that I am allergic to and gives me headaches) to clean up the nasty smell. I made a fruit fly trap because there were SO many fruit flies around the room. I was doing all of these things while she was goofing around not really doing a whole lot. She said she couldn't concentrate because she can't take her adhd meds anymore. That was her excuse for having me clean her room while she wasn't really doing anything. The next morning while I was going to pick the dog up, she was supposed to be cleaning more of the room and organizing things so that he wouldn't chew anything up. (He's still a puppy.) She pretty much just shoved things places he wouldn't be able to get into and took the trash bags we had already filled out of the room. (She threw them out the window and I'm pretty sure they're all still sitting on the ground outside.)

We picked him up on May 22nd. That was almost a month ago. The trash has built back up where we had cleaned. (None of it mine, I actually put my trash in the trashcan) The corner that is built up to the ceiling had actually gotten a little higher. (She added two pizza boxes and an art project to it). The room got really bad again and none of it was my doing. There are now 3 different fruit fly traps with a lot of them still flying around the room. She now wants me to help her clean the whole room again. She told me one day that she couldn't clean when I'm here. I left for more than 3 days with Cloud and she didn't get ANYTHING done. When I came back she said she couldn't do it by herself. I brought up that she'd told me she couldn't do anything when I'm here and she told me that the reason she couldn't is that "I'm just sitting on her bed watching something" and she "doesn't want to do things when I'm doing nothing." This is not my mess. None of it. There are two bags that are mine and they are contained. One of them is mostly dog stuff, It's like a purse for me, and the other has my clothes in it.

I willingly helped her clean the room. I did most of the work, too. Now she EXPECTS me to help her clean. She doesn't even ask me if I want to help or if I would. She just sighs heavily and glares at me and stops trying to clean. Apparently because I don't want to clean her room, I am causing her to not be able to. If she'd ASK me maybe I'd be more willing to help. This is the final straw for me. I helped clean most of this room. I did most of the work BY MY SELF. She let the mess get really bad again. She is the one who is causing this problem. It's not MY problem, MY trash, OR MY room but me being here automatically means I have to help. That's BULLSHIT. I don't want to clean up this mess AGAIN. It's not my mess. Plus I know that even if we get the whole room clean and get the trash out, it will be close to this bad again in a week or two. She doesn't get why I don't want to help her and she's almost tried to argue about it. I get that I'm here, like, 4-5 days out of the week, but that shouldn't mean that I have to clean up her mess. It's really irritating.

I don't feel like I'm being unreasonable by saying that I won't help her. It would be different if it were my mess, too, but it isn't.

Ugh. I might add more later, It depends on how much she pisses me off. She's currently watching some anime and looks over here every couple minutes. It's been about half an hour and every time I've asked her "What" she acts like she doesn't know what I'm talking about. ((Passive aggressive bullshit.))


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.