...stuck in a moment, and now you can't get out of it. in Diary

  • June 17, 2014, 2:03 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I did the smallest bit of work on my story today. Just some revision of what I wrote a couple days ago, but it was at least something. Some progress was made. This afternoon I wasn't feeling very well, otherwise I would have actually written. But I felt...off. It's difficult for me to describe the feeling, exactly. I was lightheaded, almost as if I were drugged. It was so weird.

Not long before I sat down at the computer, I cleaned up most of the mess I made doing yard work a couple days ago. Vines, including myrtle, tree branches, etc. Some leaves, too. All the junky stuff that clutters your yard. After I finished the cleanup project, I noticed a rash on my forearm. I'm wondering if maybe I had an allergic reaction to some of the clippings. Anyway, I wish I'd gotten more writing done.

My goal is to write about 12 more chapters before I start the rewriting process. Then I'll feel like the hardest part of the project is complete, to some extent at least. Thinking too far ahead is maybe not the best idea, but I envision doing the rewriting, then submitting my work for peer review, somewhere. And then I can do a final rewrite and call it good. My dream is to get published. Either way, I want to end up with a finished product that I'm proud of and that I see as a good, worthy result of my efforts.

Both of my grandparents on my mother's side wrote several novels. Also autobiographies. At some point in my life, I'll write an autobiography of my own. That's what all these diary entries are for. My memory is far from perfect. I've forgotten so many things. Forgotten how I used to feel, names of people I knew, and certain experiences. Anywho.

I watched a youtube video today with a guy in it whose middle name was Shannon. For some reason, it made me think of men in general being given the name Shannon, (seems a tad bit feminine for a man) and how I'd feel if it were me. It is kind of a sexy name, I suppose.

This entry is so pointless. But I felt like I should write something, as it's been a few days since my last entry.

My dad's cat recently went missing. I feel really bad for him. I'm hoping against hope that the cat shows up sometime soon. It's an outside cat...and it's a dangerous world these days for animals living mostly outdoors, what with all the dogs and other predators out there.

I'll try to write a more interesting entry next time. If I can make some decent progress on my story, I'll write about it here. Take care everyone, and remember: Homer is Homer, and Pluto is a planet.


ElvenAssassin June 17, 2014

I'm sorry I still owe you an email.

Oh goodness... I'm beginning to forget her OD name, but Lisa Mantchev who has been published for a few years now, posted this today:

http://thoughtcatalog.com/cody-delistraty/2013/09/21-harsh-but-eye-opening-writing-tips-from-great-authors/

For us :)

Carmen the Vampire ElvenAssassin ⋅ June 17, 2014

Wow, that was so awesome! What a breath of fresh air, reading those quotes. I think I'm going to print that out so I can find some comfort in the process and the struggle. You're the best. :) Thanks a bunch.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.