Lack of Sleep in These Foolish Things

  • Aug. 30, 2022, 8:10 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

  • Had another phone interview today. It was scheduled and confirmed by both the company and myself. The interviewer simply never showed up. This is becoming a common theme, unfortunately. It’s truly worse than dating. After I sent an email asking if this person would like to reschedule after no-showing, she wrote me back, very apologetic. We’ll see if we get another one on the calendar. This is the THIRD company to flub the initial phone call with me. What is the breakdown here?

  • Another company reached out to me telling me they were “very excited” that I was applying for the Sr. Product Lead position and were looking forward to talking with me. Asked me about my availability, so I replied back with several timeframes for talking either the end of last week or several times for this week. No response for several days. I emailed back, asking if they received my open time options. Still no response. Once again, YOU CONTACTED ME requesting a time to talk!

  • Is this possibly karma from a past life? Did I do something wrong?

  • I’m still not freaking out, though. I have zero doubt in my mind that good things, the right things, are coming. I still trust the process. I believe there are reasons why things fall through with these companies - I’m not supposed to be there. I know I’m being directed towards the right things.

  • I didn’t sleep last night. I got into bed at a decent hour, but a thunderstorm rattled Martini and she got up and moved to the other bedroom where she could hide under the bed. I turned on the Netflix show about the disaster that was Woodstock 1999 (OMG, this gave me such anxiety - those crowds - wave after wave after wave of angry, shit-covered frat boys moshing to Limp Bizkit, tearing the place apart and setting the whole thing on fire). I just knew I was going to have nightmares when I finally got to sleep.

  • But sleep was not in the cards, because I got up to go to the bathroom and all of a sudden, Martini came running and sliding into the room. She was chasing an ENORMOUS cockroach! That got me up and off the toilet fast! Holy shit, that creature was huge (was actually a big, fat water bug, but whatever) and she got it cornered under my glass bathroom scale where it just sat there looking at us while Martini frantically tried to get at it through the glass, scratching and clawing like a maniac. I figured that if I left it, Martini would end up trying to play with it (like she does crickets), and the thing would run under something else somewhere. There was NO WAY I was going to be able to go back to sleep with that thing crawling around. I had to take care of it somehow. I needed something heavy enough to squish that guy. UGH. This is really the only thing I think I need a guy for - to squish bugs. I hate those fuckers! What to do? What to do? I finally ended up getting a big, old, heavy photo album and quickly slammed it on the juicy bug at the same time I moved the scale away. I was so afraid that his shell would protect him, so I stepped on the book with both feet. My whole body weight would surely do him in, right? Right. He was done for. But I was then wide awake. Finally got to sleep around 4.

  • Speaking of not sleeping, Mr. and Mrs. Bigfoot upstairs never seem to sleep either. I figured out that it is a couple living there. It took me a while to figure that out, but now I think I’ve seen both of them. I know I’ve seen the wife because one day when I was walking up the stairs with Martini, coming back in from our walk, she was CLOMPING down the stairs. And as she was walking past, I finally got up the nerve to ask if she lives in apartment #XYZ (the one directly above me) and she said yes. And I said I figured because I could hear walking above me all the time. Now. English is clearly not her first language, and I’m not sure if she understood my passive-aggressive comment, but I don’t think she even cared because it hasn’t changed a thing. The CLOMP, CLOMP, CLOMPing hasn’t changed a bit.

  • I have a few other things I wanted to make note of, but I’ve since taken Martini on her last evening walk and I have run out of steam. I guess that will be more to write about tomorrow - I hope to have a lot to write about tomorrow!

Until then,
GS


bobbi01 August 30, 2022

I once lived under someone who would constantly pull their furniture across the floor - screech. Hideous. Those companies should be ashamed of themselves, just straight out rude.

Jinn August 30, 2022

I would be checking into an exterminator . Where there is one roach; there is a 100 hiding close by . They make my skin crawl.

colder August 31, 2022

Everyone and everything seems so flaky recently. I wonder, is everyplace just short staffed forever and things are slipping? It's hard to get anybody to call you back about anything... can we just change the world back already..? :/

Complicated Disaster August 31, 2022

You're so right! Fate is waiting with you until the right job comes along!! xx

sudare August 31, 2022

Good things will come to make a balance!

plushcreep September 05, 2022

Man, you are having some shitty luck with these interviewers. You deserve better!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.