Why in Bittersweet

  • Aug. 16, 2022, 8:22 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Why the hell can an insurance say, oh your doctor prescribed this medication and it works for you. But we don’t want to pay for it. We will prescribe this OTHER medication that doesn’t work the same as the first medication. But we will cover THAT one and maybe it will work.

Fingers crossed this med will work for my migraines. I mean it CAN work, and it does for a lot of people. Its similar but not the same. So maybe?

The other thing that makes me mad.
My dr ordered a genetic test and thought the results would come to me via email. They were sent to the doctor. Ok no problem… Except my doctor quit and I am transferring to her new practice. So What, i need to go to the other office and try to get my genetic results. It can help me know what meds will and wont work for my system. Ive heard its a great test, Its called Genesight. But now its going to feel so uncomfortable. I wonder if the dr im following can request the results. I go in on the 11th… :/ Fuck. I did this to avoid uncomfortable situations. And here I am. In one.


fjäril August 16, 2022

I've definitely had that conversation with my old neurologist and my insurance company. it took a few months to get a formulary exception for a drug that did work for me, but luckily my neurologist gave me a few samples to hold me over until the insurance company approved the medication.

fjäril August 16, 2022

also, I've been thinking of Genesight, how much did it cost, if you don't mind my asking?

ChainedChrysalis fjäril ⋅ August 17, 2022

My insurance covered it but the paper says that its 330 or less.

Small Town Girl August 17, 2022

I hate when they do that! It's like they font understand that some drugs area trial and error! And when one works? Gimme it!

Oof. Genetic testing is $$$.

ChainedChrysalis Small Town Girl ⋅ August 17, 2022

the paperwork says 330, but my insurance should cover it.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.