Call me Tom Petty in Current Events

  • June 14, 2022, 6:02 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I wasn’t the selected candidate for that full-time position. I’m only gagged because Linda got it. She is literally the worst employee on our team. My boss had an ASM sit with us when she gave me the news and I know it was because she needed a babysitter after I brought forward the allegations that she promised the position to Linda before I even had my interview. Linda has a big mouth and broke it to people on our team.

I was given a letter of what I need to work on to be considered for next time. The first one was that I need to focus on my tasks. That is a farce. The only time I am not focusing on my tasks is when I am focusing on the safety of the entire store and everybody within. When I am walking around with the electricians showing them what to fix instead of servicing our list, for example. I am on the safety committee for which I was nominated to do by my peers.

The second one was that I need to focus on quality. I asked her how she measures my work without a performance review and without quality checks with me. She hasn’t even asked me how things are going all year. She only talks to her favourites. I told her that the more she asks for quality from me the more distant she gets. I receive zero feedback from her. She tried to explain that it was all of the leaders in the store watching us. That is another farce. I have their full support and they all can see that Linda is not a good worker.

The third and final point takes the cake. I have self-deprecating humour, I made jokes in our interview that she took literally. She told me to only talk positively about myself. I was honest in my interview about areas that I am not up to par with but I followed that up with how I overcome them. That is the only thing she was able to use against me. I asked for examples and she had none. She handed this position to Linda on a silver platter.

Here is the kicker, they both expect me to let myself get used by Linda and continue to drive her to work. Once my boss announces this to the team I am going to tell Linda that this must mean that she has a way to work so I must be off the hook. I absolutely do want to be petty and not drive her anymore. This is a matter of self-respect.

I don’t want to lash out and punish everybody just because I am salty about not getting what I want. However, I know exactly which moment to do it classy and get away with it. I’m going to seize that moment and call Linda out on her bullshit without dropping her name. Absolutely everybody will know who I’m talking about.

Whatever, I am just going to finish my wine and get over feeling flustered. This opportunity will absolutely come again. I didn’t want full-time there anyway. I just got comfortable with the paydays. I should be focusing on going back to school. I’m only mad because I lost this opportunity to Linda.

All of the Scorpio aspects are fuming right now. All I can do is think about all of the ways I can hurt these people and get away with it. I don’t actually want to hurt anyone. I’m just petty.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.