Weekend Update. in The Napkin.

  • June 11, 2022, 5:27 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I got asked the other day at work how I’m doing. Just a standard check-in where you can get away with ‘fine’, but I have this annoying (to me?) habit of actually answering. Wednesday is Kenobi, Thursday is Strange New Worlds, and Friday is Orville. So, pretty good, I said.

And saying it out loud like that, ya know.

Not a bad rhythm at all. I start my lifting “week” on Sunday, I’ve been having Wednesday and Saturday off. So today, saturday, I have off from work, and a rest day from lifting. I tend to kind of do nothing special. Laundry, fetching bananas and TP, dishes, and other errands/chores/housework/livestuff doesn’t really count. I’ve kind of given up expecting myself to enjoy enjoy my days off.

The pressure to MAKE THE MOST OF THE TIME stresses me. So. I just do jack shit.

And that absolutely recharges me entering my workout Sunday, setting me up nicely for the week.

“Wait. Timmy does that mean…”

Yes. I look forward to my “Monday”, where Monday is the first day of a workweek. Ha ha.

I’ve hung out twice with the coworker who gave me her number. I don’t sense much chemistry, but it is always interesting to have to explain my nuances. If you’ve heard all my stories, it’s quite “yeah Timmy, I know that.” BUT SHE DOESN’T KNOW ALL MY BAD JOKES YET. Ha ha.

Oh, lifting. Have I mentioned enough that I’m the strongest I’ve been in my entire life? Each session, with one more rep, or 5 more lbs, is another form of a personal best. Pretty motivating, if you ask me. As a lifting philosophy, I like what is sustainable over what is potentially “optimal”. One is what you will do. The other is crap on a paper.

Do what you will do, and then thy will be done.

Sustainability man, sustainability. It’s a rookie mistake to want to go balls-out every session. Like a twelve year old boy first discovering his penis, fapping without thought. Respect your refractory period. If you pace yourself, you can keep the fitness/fatigue ratio as such that you’ll keep progressing.

But, dick jokes aside, fitness/fatigue model is a real thing, and isn’t all that different from the sexual refractory period. Pace yourself.

alt text

Okay, maybe our pelvic floor doesn’t entirely have super-compensation.

Eh, strength is strength. For work sets, incline is up to 135 lbs, flat is up to 165 lbs, and barbell row is up to 185 lbs. And don’t tell the meatheads, but I don’t care if I get stronger at squat/deadlifts right now. (255 squat, 355 deadlift, respectively.)


Bookmarks are up to 125 unread. I’M SCARED TO CLICK.

It’s 5:25 pm and I haven’t eaten yet today. Typical Timmy.

Check you later.

alt text


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.