Skittles. in The Napkin.

  • June 5, 2022, 8:53 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

It’s funny how I watch media and think “huh, that was some fun entertainment.”

And then I read that the right is all “OMG, THERE’S TOO MANY BLACK PEOPLE.” Or “THERE’S TOO MANY GAAAAYS.”

And I really wonder what kind of headspace they live in where they hyperfixate on color or sexual orientation. White nonsense and heteronormative bullshit is everywhere. Hello gender reveal parties.

Sure, the oversaturation of rainbows in my feed(s) is a little irritating, but ya know what? You do your thing, and I’ll scroll on. I’m sure I’m somewhere in the alphabet soup.

What did I ascertain recently? The right is just butthurt that they’re the excluded ones, regarding the alphabet team. Hurts not fitting in to the crowd, doesn’t it?


Tangent. Specific New Whores is generic, formulaic, safe ‘Trek. I doesn’t break new ground at all. I like it for what it is. (And gosh, I loved the season premiere of The Orville.)

The writers can claim all they want that these are the same characters recast, but nope, I’m not buying it. It’s a reboot. You can’t claim they’re different, but the same concurrently. I’m fine with having two “prime” timelines. Yup.

alt text

I haven’t picked a favorite for Pacific New Shores, but overall the tone is… just right.

Also, amidst all the RAMPANT BISEXUALITY, look at that, I made a clearly heteronormative joke.

The straights already have a flag. Or, rather, a hood. No thanks.


Addendum: Occurs to me that I’m too nuanced at times. I’m giving SNW the Umberto Flowerpatch treatment and not calling it by name for funsies. So far, I’m enjoying it, far more than Discovery or Picard. Still not Lower Decks level of awesome, but it’s a return to form.

alt text

Also “Mount me Anson” is getting some Vanilla Ice hair.

alt text


Last updated June 05, 2022


gattaca June 05, 2022

I don't break people into demographics. I merely think that there are too many people overall - of all stripes.
(Yeah, I'm one of those overpopulation-is-the-cause-of-all-our-problems people).

Lwaxana Troi was hilarious - a foil for her daughter, but it seemed like she was horny all the time. She was probably banging Mr. Homm off camera.

Timmy™ gattaca ⋅ June 05, 2022

Squeaky wheel gets the grease. I was mostly thinking of people ranting about Kenobi. When I don't see how a black villain is an issue. And if she's badly written, then that means black people can get the same shitty roles as white folks. THAT is equality, ha ha.

It's the difference between "Spock has a terran half-sister he never mentioned" and "SPOCK'S BLACK SISTER."

<3 Lwaxana.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.