I'm afraid.... in Torridaussity Two

  • June 4, 2022, 10:12 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

That my life is never going to get back to where it was and I sit here alone at my 20 year college reunion crying because of that and my 2 best friends that I came here to see decide going to a bar is more important than spending time with me. The one spent a whole day and a half with just me and I don’t mind her going, but the other only showed up today late because Tennis was more important and then chose going out to a place I’m not really able to handle going too yet. She wants to see him so I get her going. He also hurt me before. I called very few people when I was first given my talking valve for my ventilator. He was one. I had to leave a message and 3.5 months later never called me back. I don’t know what is up with him, but it hurts. As for life never being the same. I pray so hard that I will get back to normal. I’m doing multiple therapies, following doctors orders, etc. But things are still so damn hard. And because it’s things people can’t see they don’t get it. I reiterate that the hard part for everyone else was seeing me lying helpless on the ventilator. The hard part for me is the recovery…learning to sit up, use my arms and legs, sitting in a chair, standing, side stepping, rolling to my side in bed, walking a few steps, a few feet, learning to breathe better, coping with losing my hair…everything. I’m tired emotional and sad. Pray for me.


Lady of the Bann June 04, 2022

Too many selfish people out there. But if I was being generous I could say that life is hard and perhaps the other person has more to cope with than we know and is just about holding it together without the need to help support us.
People change. Move on. Sorry it hurts.x

Always Laughing Lady of the Bann ⋅ June 05, 2022

You're right people do change.

Lux Lunae June 06, 2022

The long haul of covid recovery is like nothing else. It's like having COPD and Pulmonary fibrosis but knowing that you might be able to reverse it so you work so hard through all the invisible physical barriers that others don't see yet you feel and live it every day. I'm sorry that your friends let you down. I'm sorry that your friend never returned your call. That's awful.

Always Laughing Lux Lunae ⋅ June 06, 2022

Thank you. I got over it. We've been friends for 24 years. I'm not a perfect friend either so I gave him the grace I'd want for myself. I got more concerning news today so have other things to worry about.

Small Town Girl June 07, 2022

I can imagine the road to recovery is a long, long, winding road. I cant imagine how frustrating it must be though. That is incredibly sad that a bar is more important than a friend who nearly died. Ugh. That has got to be very low feeling. Hugs. Don't give up! You will get there! Maybe you'll never be 100%? We dunno yet. But you will get better and better by the day. You just have to give your body time to regain its strength and muscle memory. It'll come.

Always Laughing Small Town Girl ⋅ June 08, 2022

Thanks so much. It was the quickness of his decision that got to me and the fact that he didn't think to ask if I could handle it. I have gotten over it because I forgive easily when I know he just didn't think.

Small Town Girl Always Laughing ⋅ June 08, 2022

Very hurtful in the moment though. That's for sure.

Always Laughing Small Town Girl ⋅ June 08, 2022

Yes exactly

icedcoffeeplz June 09, 2022

It's during these tough times we find out who are friends truly are. Also, people I think are more self absorbed now than ever before. At the very least I'd bring it up to them, see if the apologize. This way you know where you stand.

Always Laughing icedcoffeeplz ⋅ June 09, 2022

You're right these times have changed many people. I've forgiven him. We've been friends for 24 years. I know he just wanted it to be like old times.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.