Wearing white gloves in anticlimatic

  • June 2, 2022, 10:47 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

God I love this song. I can’t get over it. It sounds like a cross between Sade, Santo and Johnny, and spring rainstorms…and it’s really caught me in a particular mood. I feel like someone is missing. I’m not sure who. Lots of people are gone, but it doesn’t seem to be any of them. Like I am forgetting something. Someone. The warm consistency of my stable adult life of the last couple years has my past before that time fading out on me. Did I bring everything worth bringing with me? Was there something left behind? I don’t trust my memory.

I feel slightly estranged from a sizable portion of my family. They’re church-goers. I was forced, as a child, but can bring myself to tolerate it no longer. It’s not that I have any kind of beef with God, no matter how cold, cruel, or LIKELY NON EXISTENT he might be. But I do have a beef with Church, and everything about it. At least as far as I might feel compelled to attend. Maybe I like the idea of a society with a shared cultural set of values informed by religion, but the act of participating in the routine minutia of weekly Church services? I’m afraid I cannot abide that, nor suffer a single extra wasted minute of my precious time in Church listening to someone read the fucking awkward ass bible for the umpteenth time. A large portion of my family is very into that kind of thing; shame, people-pleasing as a virtue, forced “reverence” for relics and rooms possessing fantasies of purity and sanctity. I myself cannot stand it. It makes me want to break something, although that sounds rather petulant…and maybe I am.

My official motto for the 2022 season is “Fuck You.” My patience for people has evaporated completely. Things are just too bleak to be friendly anymore.


Last updated June 02, 2022


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.