Why? in Daydreaming on the Porch

  • May 21, 2022, 1:03 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

When my brother and I were kids growing up in Jefferson Parish, Louisiana (next door to New Orleans), we loved to run and play outdoors like all kids of a certain age do. When you are six and eight years old, life can be pretty carefree. We played cowboys and Indians, pretended we were Mighty Mouse after watching the cartoon show on Saturday morning, built forts, played hide and seek, and, I am sure made a lot of noise.

Noise from kids. I am sure that is what disturbed our two neighbors next door — two retired, elderly nurses (of all professions), sisters who loomed large in our imaginations as impossibly mean ogres because they looked at us innocent, playful kids with such malevolence for disturbing their peace and quiet. And they said things. I don’t remember what. I’m sure they talked to my parents about us causing such a ruckus.

Looking back, I think that’s probably all they lived for. To be left alone in their miserable solitude. Even at that young age, I, the older brother, knew there was something terribly wrong that people could dislike children so much. I guess I wondered how people could be so mean. I was only 7 or 8 years old when I lived there. But the fearsome old ladies were always there, too, shuttered up in their apartment.

I don’t mean to say we paid them that much attention. We just kept our distance. We were wary that a window or door would open and one of them would be there to scold us. It didn’t happen often. Mostly they were invisible presences. Like ghosts maybe.

The story we most remember in our family is of my brother, 6-years-old, crew-cut blond hair, who hardly ever said much to anybody, telling one of those ladies one day after she had scolded us, “God gonna take away all your money.” We still laugh about that line. More than 60 years later.

Now that I am much much older, I fear whatever forces of time, coarse or terrible events, misshapen childhoods, doomed relationships or marriages, led those two women to such a lonely and bitter old age.

I live alone. I know well the solitary life. I know that the unlimited stillness and quiet of the world I inhabit most of the time makes me acutely sensitive to noises and unwanted sounds. I live within some still and deep cavern in my mind at those times. I have ample opportunities to ponder what went wrong, if I choose, and if I am in such a mood to do so. I who proclaim to relish this solitude I am famously know to enjoy, also fear it.

One Saturday night about 10:30, I recall hearing across the way were shouting and running around having a good old time. It’s rare to hear that around here. Sure it was late. They were not a bunch of drunken teeangers hanging around bored out of their minds. Just kids being spontaneous. I lurched from my chair to see what the commotion was all about. Silently cursing. I took a deep breath and realized what I was doing. What this could mean? It was nothing. I was a kid once.

Two nights ago, I was on the beach at dusk. The light was fading fast, but there were still people out coming in from their walks. And there are always families this time of year on vacation. And kids. And I was sitting in my chair looking moodily out over the ocean, cooled by a nice breeze that was starting to pick up. I was feeling a bit melancholy, moody, no doubt about it. It had been an intensely hot summer day.

It was low tide. There was a vast expanse of beach. But a family with their three small kids ambled by. And the kids, in their total uninhibitedness, practically stumbled on my chair, looking at me quizzically like I was some kind of beached whale, and then moving on. I almost had to laugh. But I wanted them to go away. I wanted to take my chair and with it down the beach, away from everybody. Away from the father and his daughter flying a kite nearby also. So near that I thought the pretty kite shaped like an airplane was going to dive bomb me any minute.

My God, don’t let me get like those bitter old ladies. Let me age gracefully if at all possible. Don’t let the night become too dark and lonely.


music & dogs & wine May 21, 2022

Love this <3

Oswego music & dogs & wine ⋅ May 22, 2022

Merci, beaucoup!

A Pedestrian Wandering May 21, 2022

I think when you get to be our age, our likes, dislikes and preferences have been long clarified and set. Like you, I value my peace and so when it is interrupted it can feel jarring and rebuke seems, unfortunately, automatic. But you are wise in your observation, not to want to be like those two old nurses sucking the joy from life. And THAT knowledge will hopefully set you apart in a way that can allow you to appreciate the joy of youth in others (at a sufficient distance). Nice entry,

Oswego A Pedestrian Wandering ⋅ May 22, 2022

Our paths are indeed set to some extent by a certain age. We have our settled pleasures and comforts, which the young cannot comprehend in their endless experimentation and zest for life. But at the same time, I greatly appreciate and am thankful for that time in life we all go through when life seems limitless and innocent (for a time). I know deep down that this gets at the very essence and meaning of this miraculous life we have.

ConnieK May 21, 2022

I live almost hermit-life now and enjoy my solitude. I get irritated by the neighbor's motorcycle, the neighbor kids, and the pit bull next door. I think it is normal to resent interruptions in my plans. What is ABnormal, in my opinion, is wallowing in that anger. Your elderly sisters lived that day in and day out. You don't.

Oswego ConnieK ⋅ May 22, 2022

They did, and it’s profoundly sad to recall our childhood reactions to this severe mystery in our otherwise free-spirited zeal for having fun, as all children do if given the opportunity and proper nurturing.

What really irritates me are parents who have no control over small children who misbehave badly, and other adults who immaturely blast their way through our peaceful streets in their toxic motorcycles and souped up cars. Some, but probably not many, will realize later in life how stupid and selfish they were.

Deleted user May 21, 2022 (edited May 21, 2022)

Edited

Oh, I am embracing my bitter cronehood. There is a toddler on my hall who has multiple screaming, crying meltdowns and the mother is ineffectual at containing it. She just lets the kid meltdown in the hallway and stands there and says "I love you." Well, that's nice, but how about you, or your ex-husband or whoever the man is who collects the kid during the day take the kid into the apartment or out to the car? She had another one at 1:45 a.m. a few nights ago, where I could hear it in my living room. I am not ashamed to say that it is disruptive, I hate the sound of it, I am sick of hearing it, and I want that kid and her idiotic mother to move away. Far away.

Oswego Deleted user ⋅ May 22, 2022

You have probably touched the nerve to end all nerves with that example. The parents need parenthood training because if they don’t nip that now or find out what’s causing the fearsome and troubled tyke to explode that way and keep at it, then I am afraid they are in store for worse in the years ahead.

Deleted user Oswego ⋅ May 22, 2022

As is everyone within 100 yards of them.

Oswego May 22, 2022

So true. It’s refreshing and a happy reminder that childhood is a time of innocence and play, where our imaginations run freely and with carefree abandon until that innocent joy in living is stamped out of us by the education system and the empty values of a consumerist society where the ultimate goal is a huge McMansion! 🥺

Mr. Mofo May 22, 2022

I will have to read this tomorrow, but I bet you've been to Mosca's once or twice.

mcbee May 22, 2022

Interesting entry and comments. I live alone, I cherish the silence and don't feel lonely. I feel lucky. I do get grumpy at the times I am subject to uninvited noise, but usually catch myself before I take it to the bitter old loner level :-)

Newzlady May 23, 2022

:)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.