Is It Okay To Be Angry? in The Kid Used To Dream

  • May 10, 2022, 9:53 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

This time of year all the local schools are busy handing out awards. The pictures posted on social media are amazing to see. I love seeing the accomplishments of the kids. Seeing how they worked so hard and to receive recognition from their coaches. Some of the kids will not ever play sports again after high school. It’s a bittersweet experience whether those kids play after High School or not.

It’s difficult for me to see these posts. They make me angry. Society has been inundated with sports programs giving trophies to everyone for participating. While I’m not a fan - I get it. I’m good for recognizing kids for their work.

Here’s why I’m angry.

My oldest son graduated a few years ago. This kid was not only a good athlete - he was respected by his teammates. He did everything expected of him. His High School football coach always made it hard for him. It was obvious that he treated my son different. Most everyone told me I was overreacting. Towards the end of the school year I was beginning to believe that maybe I was reading it wrong. Then…

Then, the awards banquet happened. He got dressed up and was so happy. Something inside of me told me not to go so I didn’t. For that hour and a half at home by myself I went through several emotions. I was doubtful that I had made a mistake for not attending. He would walk across the stage and look up and for the first time I wouldn’t be there. I felt sad that I was letting him down. I became angry at myself that maybe it was pride on my part that I was so upset that the coach was mistreating him - or at least I believed it if no one else did.

He and my wife came home and he was laughing. I asked do you have a good time? How did it go? He said - you were right. I sat there for the entire awards ceremony and was the only player not called up to receive anything. I can’t imagine how that felt to sit there humiliated when every player on the team was recognized.

I really hope that it’s okay that I’m still angry about it. I’m probably not as angry about him not getting recognized as I am that not one adult in that room found nothing to complain about.

As angry as I am still, I hope it never happens to the coach’s son.


This entry only accepts private comments.

No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.