Unreliable. in Since OD is shutting down....

  • May 1, 2022, 12:26 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’ve learned a lot in parenting the past few years and one of the main things I’ve learned is that not only are people going to break promises but to never expect much and not tell my kid people are coming because they don’t always keep their word. My Mother has said all week, every time I’ve spoke to her that she would come tonight to either hang out or watch my kid so I could make some money.

I had texted her my new number and didn’t hear from her again this evening, after she was supposed to be here and never did even get an apology for not keeping her word. I have learned not to tell my daughter anyone is coming unless I know they are on their way over or usually when I see them pull up to my house.

I know that my Mom deals with a lot at home and she has a lot of mental health issues but it makes me very angry that my kid doesn’t get to see her much. I understand that everyone has their own lives but I’ve also learned that we make things a priority if we want to. I’m just thankful I never mentioned Grandma possibly be coming or if she didn’t, I would have had to comfort my child and essentially catch hell for the rest of the day.

It’s very frustrating that everyone gets to be absent or make promises they don’t keep and I’m the one to pick up the pieces for my child. I do also understand that inconsistency is a good teacher because it shows my daughter to never expect much and just appreciate the time we do get with everyone but I wish everyone could make effort regularly and understand that my daughter is almost 5 and knows what’s going on.

We went to their house last night because my brother was there but stayed a little too long so my Dad started his weird shit again. He kept being overly affectionate, whispering in my daughter’s ear and then at one point, my Mom and I were sitting there talking and I noticed him whisper something to my daughter and then he stood up where my daughter was going to follow him. He said he wanted to brush her hair (that again!) and we followed him to the bathroom. My little brother was in there so he just grabbed the brush and still wanted to brush her hair even though my Mom told him that I don’t even worry about it until she’s had her bath.


This entry only accepts private comments.

No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.