If Today We're A Person in Hello

  • April 26, 2022, 10:48 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’d punch it in the face.

Finished the last of the brackets and decided to drill and tap a few stripped out holes which was the easy part. When I loaded the next sheet of material it was so warped it didn’t want to fully stick to the vacuum fixture. Normally all I do is crawl inside the machine and apply as much weight/pressure I can to all four corners.

Nope.
Not having it.

I rotated, flipped, pounded with a hammer and beat with my hands on that fucking aluminum for close to an hour. Finally had a light bulb moment, bolted some clamps on the upraised corners and tightened that shit tighter than a jew’s asshole when asked for a donation.

It worked!

Face mill shaved it down to a proper width so I flipped it over onto the bolt fixture. Alas, one of the five bolts that holds the material in place for milling stripped on this one. Drill and tap, right? Wrong, lass ‘n lad. We didn’t have the correct drill bit or tap. I should know, I organized a few bins and drawers for almost two hours trying to find one. I winged it using only a slightly bigger bit and a hope I could pull hard enough on the socket wrench to get the bolt to cut new threads.

It worked!

Think on your feet kinda day. By the time I had the center drill up and running I was mentally (plus physically) tired of troubleshooting and just wanted to go home.

Stretching out with a bowl of crockpot beef stew a hunk of cornbread and a glass of iced tea was the highlight of my evening.

Now it’s bedtime.

Oh ya, Cancerslug is playing in town on Saturday to kickoff their 2022 tour. I’m so going! Haven’t seen them since ‘11.


Deleted user April 27, 2022

THAT was actually interesting. I applaud you for your innovation and creativity. I could feel the bone and joint crunching work. It is always a good feeling when something is not working and you creatively get it TO work. Bravo!

J.E. Deleted user ⋅ April 28, 2022

Thanks. Unfortunately I've been in many situations where I've had to figure out something like that on my own. You get creative real quick.

Deleted user J.E. ⋅ April 28, 2022

I admire that and respect you for it.

J.E. Deleted user ⋅ April 28, 2022

With all my heart and honesty, thank you.

A lot of former bosses don't know just exactly things I've had to do to get the job done.

Deleted user J.E. ⋅ April 29, 2022

You are a rare blue-collar on here I can relate to a little bit. You know the joy and pain of hard work.

Ferret Mom April 30, 2022

You do know your way around machinery.

DevilishlyInnocent May 02, 2022

Awesome. Food good.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.