Shiny Happy People in anticlimatic

  • April 20, 2022, 9:25 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I never bothered listening to this song because I always assumed it would annoy me. Somehow I got the idea it was a celebration of hippies, but apparently it’s an ironic critique of Chinese propaganda and fake happiness. I don’t really care for that take either, but there’s something about the lyrics and enthusiasm of the two singers here that is hitting the spot now that I’ve given it a chance.


Deleted user April 21, 2022

I read an article about this song last year shortly after losing my job. I think I've heard it once before or something that it was kind of stupid. I listen to it again and then many times and it's now one of my favorites because it sounds so fucking stupid and it feels so good. So many songs I've got your stupid lyrics but they make you feel good or i for one keep looking for deeper meanings thinking this song can't be that fucking stupid there's got to be more to it.

anticlimatic Deleted user ⋅ April 21, 2022

Simple things have this way of hitting chords in my brain that unlock a huge variety of ponderings. It's like the closest thing I can get to divine inspiration. I think it's because the simplicity makes it so comparable and applicable to so many different things that it's easy to make thought-paths depending on what we fancy.

Deleted user anticlimatic ⋅ April 21, 2022

You are a good writer. That is the appeal of so much pop or rock or country or what rap stuff is the simplicity. You can listen to it over and over. Some of it. I have a playlist that started as my drinking music playlist then I quit drinking and it is still fun. Any song I can listen to on repeat a few times.

anticlimatic Deleted user ⋅ April 21, 2022

Hey thanks Scott. What songs are on your list?

Deleted user anticlimatic ⋅ April 21, 2022

A lot of old stuff the stones who etc. and some very very odd songs mostly rock

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.