Coming through in formless

  • April 19, 2022, 10:57 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I am 27 weeks pregnant

I don’t know how much weight I’ve gained but it’s enough that my body feels like it’s no longer mine. I had an early baby shower (grandparents leaving the state for 6 months and I wanted them to be there) and I still can’t look at the photos.
I had to leave social media, because I was feeling so insecure about my body and the weight I’ve gained, being constantly bombarded by images of thin people wearing things I can’t contemplate, or pregnant women who only gain weight in the belly.

My whole body had changed. I am at peace with this mostly, because most of it is out of my control. I try to eat to nourish myself and the baby and move my body in ways that are comfortable. I’m not experiencing much physical discomfort so I am grateful for that.

The baby will be here in less than three months (unless he is very overdue lol) and somedays I still can’t believe this is my life now.

I’ve been mourning a lot of things lately, mourning the trips we’ve had to postpone, mourning the future I imagined for myself, mourning the body that took a long time to love that will likely change and I will have to learn to love again.

It’s a weird time too, in the last 3 months we’ve been completely priced out of the housing market. Our utilities and groceries have gone up significantly, everything costs more and it feels like a struggle to save any money at all. I spend a lot of time worrying about what kind of future I can provide for my son, or what kind of world he will live in.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.