Sad in Torridaussity Two

  • April 16, 2022, 10:21 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

So here I am almost one month home and tonight was tough. You see I slept through what would’ve been the worst part of my covid illness and therefore sometimes it is hard to process the aftermath such as my hair. First of all my hair was one of the only things I liked about myself. It was long down to the middle of my back. While in the hospital it became matted in a bun shape on top of my head, today I got the mat out only to realize most of it wasn’t attached to my head it was all broken off pieces from being so tight. So I lost probably 80% of my hair in that ball and secondly covid has made my hair fall out. What little I had that was free from the matted ball has been falling out. I’m going bald. And honestly it’s hard to process. Yes I’m thankful to be alive, but it’s just one more thing to deal with. I have a large scar on my face several scars on my hands and arms, and a large and small one on my stomach. Oh how I could forget the trach scar on my neck too. I lost weight yay, but my body reshaped itself some how because of lying flat so long so maybe, so I don’t feel comfortable in my clothes. I am still on oxygen. I’m so tired and weak…I can barely pick up a full gallon of milk anymore and yes I know I was very sick. But because I went to sleep still fairly normal and woke up a month and a half later a totally different person. It’s so so very hard to deal with.


RayUnkown April 16, 2022

Wow. I can't imaging that feeling of waking up after so long and through all that change. It is hard each day should get easier. From how you writing I get the feeling you have the drive to push on and recover just fine.

Always Laughing RayUnkown ⋅ April 17, 2022

Thank you. I hope I can.

Lady of the Bann April 17, 2022

It is bound to take time.concentrate on having a healthy diet that will help your body recover.and as we go into summer plenty of fresh air and sunshine, doing things you love, to lift your mind. Maybe get a good haircut.

Always Laughing Lady of the Bann ⋅ April 17, 2022

There really isn't much to cut. It needs cleaned up but it is going to be very short for a long time. I'm going to get a wig because of the bald areas. Summer will help. I will be ok it's just hard because everyone expects me to just be fine and dandy because hey I'm alive I'm to not to complain because of that

Shattered April 17, 2022

Wishing you nothing but peace ♥️

Always Laughing Shattered ⋅ April 17, 2022

Thank you ❤

Dancing.Shadow April 17, 2022

Hugs. I wish I knew what to say. You are such a strong woman. Don't forget that!

Always Laughing Dancing.Shadow ⋅ April 17, 2022

Thank you, hugs are the best

Small Town Girl April 18, 2022

Oh no! The hair thing I feel you! I'm going bald too! And while they make great wigs now, they are costly!! And it's still not your own hair!! Will your hair grow back or is this a permanent situation?!?!

I am So sorry. That has to be a lot of recovery and a lot of changes to process for sure.

Lux Lunae April 18, 2022

Is there any chance the hair will grow back? That would be a horrible thing to wake up to.

I hope you regain your strength ❤️

Always Laughing Lux Lunae ⋅ April 18, 2022

Yes they say long covid causes the loss thar I'm experiencing now and it will come back.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.