Who? in Dreams

  • April 11, 2022, 10:07 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I entered the college dorm common room and sat on the far end of the single couch, next to the end table and lamp. I settled in to write. I had my laptop and also old fashioned pen and paper notebook.
As I wrote, I noticed peripherally the few others in the room. There was an elder woman on the other side of the couch, very engaged in studying a large book. There were 2 guys in the middle of the floor, who were either playing a game or had a large number of study materials spread out on the floor. That was it for the people, here.
I don’t quite know or remember what triggered the changes that quickly ensued, but it was very evident very quickly that one of the men was interested in me. I didn’t look at them directly, but I became uncomfortable, and decided to make an exit. As I capped my pen though, the man walked right up into may space, reached boldly and decisively out, and grabbed my right hand. He said something- something that was meant to be complimentary or friendly. I was too shocked and started to notice what it was, and I looked up in fear straight into his eyes. Immediately I knew he was a sociopath. There was exactly zero recognition of my fear in his affect.
I wanted to wrench my hand away, but instead I just set my things aside and stood up, to one side so that he had to let go of my hand. I walked to the other side of the room where a bulletin board and mailbox were, and pretended to inspect the posts. There was a low table there, just in front of the board, that I put between us.
He followed but paused on the other side of the table, as if suspicious that I would use it to make my escape.he seemed determined to not let me get away. My heart pounded and I wished that I could scream at the woman to call someone - anyone- the cops, security, whatever, but what would I say?! He held my hand?
So I pretended until he chose a side, and I darted the other way. He was ready, though.
Grabbing me in a practical tackle, he tangled himself around me and dragged me to the floor. I couldn’t roll away or use my legs. He laughed, as if he were having the time of his life, and asked me something like “thought you were clever?” And then noticed the rings on my finger. He looked at them, even held my hand and spun the rings ony finger, asking “what is this? What is this?” Over and over again in a playful manner. I closed my hand into a fist and wrenched it was from him. It was obvious to me he would attempt to take the rings off my finger.
Then, I decided to make a move and run for it. I broke his grip, popped up, and sprinted out. I ran out of the common area, out of the building, and ran until I found a security guy or a teacher. I told him what happened and he did seem concerned, and willing to help. On the walk back he told another larger male student to accompany us, and I felt some relief.
“What else did you have with you?” The security asked.
“My notebook and- my laptop!” I suddenly paled.
He looked at me. “Was it open, unlocked?” He asked.
“I-I don’t remember!” I exclaimed. “Everything is on there. Everything.”
He nodded. We’ll have to report to cyber security immediately.”
We arrived at the common room presently. The men were gone but the elderly lady was there. She seemed concerned and frazzled. She handed me my laptop. I felt a huge sigh of relief run through my nerves. “They took your notebook,” she said apologetically.
“Well that’s a relief.” The security said, and thought… Is it? I tried to remember what was in it. A lot of personal stuff. No names or numbers or addresses or anything. But my inner thoughts, experiences, musings, dreams. Things that no singular person knew about me.
Maybe he wouldn’t know my name. But he would know me.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.