Walking isn't exercise. in Whey and Sonic Screwdrivers.

  • March 31, 2022, 12:08 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

There’s a reason I get irked when people call walking exercise. Is walking good? Yes, that’s not debatable. But if walking is exercise, then there’s something wrong with you. Everyone should be able to walk. It’s just a part of life.

After my grandfather got a quadruple bypass, he went for a walk every day. So, sorry-not-sorry that I associate walking with an impressive feat by a guy who could have been dead.

And would be dead in a year or two after.


As a weightlifter+, I don’t factor in “calories burned”. Seems silly. As a chronic stimulus, it’s going to be roughly the same calories “burned” every week.

Hell, if I were a long-distance runner, it would be the same case. You “burn” roughly the same calories each week, you watch the scale, and adjust your calories accordingly.

Mine is stable, and drifting upwards. And considering that I am, you know, moving inanimate objects, I’d be a little sad if I didn’t grow some Lean Timmy Mass in the process. All the terminology of “strength” and “hypertrophy” seems like wizardry until you look in the mirror and see something positive. Even my logs seem abstract in comparison.

+Funny. I don’t think I’ve referred to myself as a weightlifter before. Makes it sound so professional and serious. When in reality, I’m just a dude fighting off depression. After all, you have to hate yourself just a little bit to step foot in the gym. Let alone some masochistic long-distance runner. If you’re Miss Beautiful, how can you improve upon perfect?


It’s not that walking is bad. It’s that we are capable of doing more than walking. If you ever catch me deliberately walking, you’ll know it’s because I’m on death’s door. And I refuse to take it sitting down.


Last updated March 31, 2022


AnOrangeZebra March 31, 2022

walking is my go to, i generally feel like im on deaths door lol. But I am going to be doing workouts for hypermobile people soon! <3

Fawkes Gal March 31, 2022 (edited March 31, 2022)

Edited

Walking is not easy for everyone, and for a lot of people it is exercise. Some people aren't physically capable of making something as simple as walking a regular part of their day. Are people really deserving of scorn because their bodies aren't as able as yours?

I just spent more than a year not being able to walk long distances because of chronic anemia. For some people, being able to walk is a victory. Just because it isn't for you doesn't lessen it for them.

Timmy™ Fawkes Gal ⋅ March 31, 2022

Victories are still victories, indeed.

Sleepy-Eyed John March 31, 2022

I like walking. I agree with Fawkes, but I see your point about exercise exercise. I think it's going to be different for everyone, and it's good to realize what your standards of excellence are and aren't.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.