25 First Pulls. in Whey and Sonic Screwdrivers.

  • March 28, 2022, 6:16 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

On paper, deadlifting 5x5 @ 275 lbs sounds like maximal heavy work. It is, but it ends up feeling like damned cardio, even with five minute rest periods. I can’t fathom doing it without an analog clock.

alt text

No math involved. Just estimate where the minute hand is on the clock, and note “okay, do the next set by the next number or you’re dragging your feet, buttercup.”

…Yes, I do occasionally say “suck it up, buttercup” to myself, when I’m at the gym. No idea where that expression originates.

I know I’ve annotated that my eyes were bloodshot. That seems to have subsided on its own. Okay, I had some spare meds, but I only used them for two or three days. I wondered if it was allergies, or me doomed to being an ugly boy forever.

I have this internalized idea that people give me a wide berth at the gym. As if I’m some ugly, scary dude. Even though it’s just standard gym protocol to keep to yourself. Most people keep to themselves. On a day like today, I’m that guy off to the side warming up with 3 plates. Two squat racks next to me, two or three women came and went to squat/deadlift. Gave them a wide berth when I was changing weights.

Because even in the gym, personal space, the personal bubble is still very much a thing. See Rant Wednesday; there are always assholes at the gym.

To my relief, I’m looking more human, without meds. And black so looks good on me.


Inspired by an orange friend, I did get around to planting the bulbs I got back in January. I’m sure a native southerner would consider it “late” to plant, but I haven’t forgotten the Blizzard of ‘93. You just don’t forget snow falling as you’re walking home on a Friday, digging out on a Saturday, sunshine on Sunday, and NOT MISSING A DAY OF SCHOOL. BUMMER MAAAAAAN.

(Oh, it didn’t melt immediately. It’s that Jersey has infrastructure, unlike south of the Mason-Dixon Line, or Texas. Ha ha. Melt snow with a hairdryer lately, Texas?)


While the lightest, 5x5 is the hardest of the cycle. Next week will be 4x4, followed by 3x3 the week after. It’s like I’m taking all this accumulated knowledge and just fucking doing it. No “well, I should prepare before I…” Nope. I’m not a professional. To get better at squats and deads, I should - le gasp - SQUAT AND DEAD.

Occam’s Capitalism: If someone is overcomplicating something, they’re trying to sell it to you.


I dare say I’m looking forward to warmer weather. Being healthy this summer for the first time in over six years, I hope my heat sensitivity is mitigated. I haven’t forgotten how I used to go for a jog in 85F and sunshine. …Not that I plan on doing that. It’s that I could.


Did I mention my lower back was bugging me yesterday? Well, it started two days ago. Second of two rest days. REST DAYS. Yesterday was an upper day, and felt fine through my workout. Felt nothing through my squat warm-up. Felt nothing through my deadlift work sets.

And thus I maintain: my back hurts when I don’t deadlift. I blame slouching on my couch.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.