Calm nothing. in Whey and Sonic Screwdrivers.

  • March 26, 2022, 9:39 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I seem pretty comfortable in stagnation.

Hopefully the hot water situation is done. The carpet is finally dry. Who doesn’t hate having wet feet? The new heater worked for like a day, and then didn’t. Loose wiring. I mean, I could have trouble-shot it, but I’m not being responsible for that.

I haven’t shaved this month. I literally found an ingrown hair on my face last night. I despise having facial hair sometimes, you know?

Still better than back hair.

I finally ran a round of dishes yesterday. My laziness meant I was just rewashing the same plate and fork. At the same time, it did make me wonder about the efficiency of only using the same plate and fork.

Big picture, finishing the dishes will help my chakra. Or is it fung shwhey. Whatever.

Things don’t move with me. Things just pile up conveniently. Things are exactly where I leave them. There’s no point in picking up a receipt that fell on the floor, because I don’t care. And so it sits.

Well, at least I’m not a clean freak. I mean, I pride myself in washing my hands before I partake in digital actions, but still. My living spaces have always looked lived in, not like a dentist office.

I finished my third week of my second cycle. There’s definitely pride and fulfilment from setting a goal and hitting the checkmarks along the way. Important for me, as I generally feel “unable”. When it comes to fight/flight/freeze/fawn, I flop.

Thursdays I watch the new episode of Star Trek. And then check my proverbial notes with reviews/reactions. Sunday is the first day of the next week. Nothing else really scheduled across the week.

Hrm. Sure beats when I was overwhelmed with wifey’s family constantly throwing random events at me.

But, won’t lie, the big long nothing is a bit boring at times. Hopefully it helps build back up my tolerance for life bullshit. Because my life bullshit threshold was so high a decade ago.


Reminds me. Wifey dropped by two days ago. She needed clothespins. I had some, because we had previously used them for things. (Yup. All over my balls.) Anyway, before leaving, she noticed the door was open a little. Cue a soft but deep breath.

The door handle sticks and it takes a little for it to close properly. Cue kitty inventory. T’Pol was safe inside. Kira and Boi quickly scooted inside. That was three. Checked the rooms twice. Put on my sunglasses (my eyes are weak as shite) and went outside. Alice was nearby, chirped at me, and scooted inside.

Crisis averted.

I know what I didn’t do. It crossed my mind to blurt “you know you have to close the door all the way”, but thankfully that never came out of my mind. Because I could read she was already feeling guilty. It’s one of those lines that would have hung in the air, and gotten in her head. I mean, it would have gotten in my head if someone else had said it. I just stayed calm and collected my felines, as a spike in excitement wouldn’t solve anything.

So maybe I do have more stress threshold potential than I realize.


gattaca March 26, 2022

Yes, I hung out with a group of people back in the day who used clothespins for all kinds of things - none of which had anything to do with clothing.

AnOrangeZebra March 30, 2022

Glad the water situation is taken care of <3

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.