Estate sale news and blues in Daydreaming on the Porch

  • March 22, 2022, 8:32 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

(Note: The following contains the comment I left after reading a quite moving entry by fellow diarist Pedestrian Wandering. Here I elaborate further on that comment to more fully express my state of mind and feelings after just going through one of life’s necessary, but emotionally wrenching, experiences: a two-day estate sale for my beloved mother’s belongings, as my brother, sister and I prepare to sell her house two years after her passing)

The day after the conclusion of our recent estate sale for Mom’s beautiful antiques, china and prints, I can say for sure that sentiment has no price and is the most subjective of qualities.

To me everything that Mom had was important. Nothing seemed mundane. Everything from the lowliest comb or brush to the magnificent framed botanical prints hung throughout the house, was imbued with her character, taste and personality. It was all “her,” which was why selling so much of it, that which I and my siblings did not choose to keep for ourselves, was such a painful and poignant experience. In my case particularly, it has stretched for many months and most surely has extended the grieving process that has yet to have its final curtain and which, in fact, won’t.

As for all of the myriad boxes and files full of my memorabilia spanning every decade of my life, I am afraid most all of it will remain after I am gone. I am sorry, but I have no children to burden with this task, and it doesn’t appear at this point that I will ever be especially close to my only niece and nephew. They will likely assist my sister in having most of those items, precious and memorable only to me, hauled off to some landfill. So be it. My self-published photo books and my copious online writing here and at Open Diary are all that I could hope, and possibly expect, to be preserved and linger on in some way, shape or form. Or maybe lost like everything else eventually will be.

Again, I’m sorry if any of this is a burden to others, but if any of them should ever read this, I offer my apologies, but I can’t part with any of it yet.

Again, the rather sad, but at this point inevitable fact of my having no children or descendants who might save and treasure little objects or artifacts that had special meaning for me, makes this whole subject of memorabilia and keepsakes that much more personal and important to me. Because after all, it is we alone who know the innermost meaning of those preserved objects, letters, diaries and papers. And it is a fact that we all come into this world alone in our helplessness, and depart in much the same way.


Lady of the Bann March 22, 2022 (edited March 22, 2022)

Edited

I still have not cleared all Peter's stuff and he died 3 years ago. I found it difficult to throw away the papers that he and stepdad cliff had collected. Indentures from their apprenticeships, old driving licences,photos and in Peter's case old scientific formulas for photo litho, which no longer exists, which enabled him to get the right colours reproduced from artwork to print.

Oswego Lady of the Bann ⋅ March 23, 2022

Those papers are indeed some of the hardest things to part with! A lot of my memorabilia consist of papers, documents etc., from school snd jobs that go back many decades. They remind me of who I was and am, so they have become a part of me, just as have those saved items that belonged to my mother.

But, I suppose I could possibly part with some of my high school geometry and algebra tests.🤔

woman in the moon March 22, 2022

I pretty much plan to keep my things and then when I'm no longer here, I really don't care what happens to them. I suppose I'm putting a burden on my descendants but so what.

Oswego woman in the moon ⋅ March 23, 2022

Yes, but I would call it “enrich” those who happen to be the future custodians of my memorabilia! 😌

woman in the moon Oswego ⋅ March 23, 2022

I'm sure you're right. I could edit out a bunch of trivia myself. I might. I might not.

Jinn March 22, 2022

Did you get to keep what you wanted of your Mom’s things? I hope so.
A state library might be interested in your writings and photos.
I am quite certain my sons will not be interested in my stuff :-) They are not much into “ things”. I hope someone gets them eventually that likes them . .

Oswego Jinn ⋅ March 23, 2022

Fortunately, yes, my brother and sister were very accommodating. I was able to keep exactly those things that most mattered to me. Very happy about that!

Jinn Oswego ⋅ March 23, 2022

That’s good . It helps a little .

Deleted user March 26, 2022

I understand it.
I am already cleaning out some of my stuff and I will continue the following months. As for me, I was always very interested in the history of my ancestors and I liked to listen to their stories. Now, life is so stressed, so much to do, very few free time…
I feel pretty sure my son and the kids will have no time or interest to spend much time to sort out my things. I saved things of long ago because I thought they might be interested.

My friends tell me the same and in their voices I can hear some disappointment because they feel so many precious memories will be lost due to the speed with which the younger generations race through life.
While we listen and follow the developments in the east of us, they rush on. We already anticipate the scenarios to come.
They live their lives, and probably that's the best thing to do.
Here in PB too. writers who live very far from here are now even discussing the injustice that refugees have experienced in recent years and how Ukrainian refugees are received with open arms. They then speak of discrimination against all those others and because their skin color makes the difference. The word racism of Europe has already been uttered by some diarists and then I think ….time to quit, time to take distance and not write about this war and our personal concerns.🙂
One day, everyone on this planet will face disasters and only when it comes a little closer then do worries creep in.
I hope your weekend will be beautiful. Enjoy Spring dear friend.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.