Funemployment, Week 2 in These Foolish Things

  • March 18, 2022, 3:44 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Well, here I am on a Friday, deep into unemployment! Is it bad that I’m enjoying it for the most part? Well, I’m enjoying not going into that effing office (save for the couple of friends I loved), but none of that weird work shit that I just didn’t get (I kind of think a lot of that was to throw me off track so the company could say goodbye to me), and NO MORE SUPPORT GIRL. I’m actually very curious to hear how she’s doing, though I really shouldn’t give her any more of my mental energy.

I may have to go for a goodbye lunch or happy hour in the next week or so just to be able to say goodbye to the people I really did like.

And then give the figurative big fat finger to the rest of those motherfuckers.

I’m just out of a zoom meeting with my therapist. For the most part, I told her that I’m excited about the future and the possibilities (more on that later), but that there’s also a shame that I feel about getting let go. Here’s the thing. I was with the company for NINE years. You’d think if I was an asshole or doing terrible work, I’d have been let go a long, long time ago, right? But to work for the company for nine long years, and all of the sudden, get let go…that everyone would know that I’m not a jackhole.

But they treat you like one when they let you go. You are treated just like you’ve done something terribly wrong and you’re not even allowed to say goodbye. Like, if the tables were turned and I quit, I’m pretty sure the company would have let me hang out for two more weeks and I would have gotten to go to lunch with the friends I liked and have had time to say goodbye to people.

But this way. This feels just gross.

Still, I can’t spend too much time dwelling.

My conversations with the two companies continue and I’m even talking with another couple of companies as well.

Company #1, we’ll call Dream Job Company is moving very slowly with me. The last conversation I had with the hiring manager, she told me that she needed to write up the job description, have it approved and get it out to me. And she said that would likely happen quickly. But it hasn’t. So I got back in touch with her this week and she said it’s still going through approval, so I don’t know what to think about that. I did end up taking the bull by the horns and drove to the small city this week to check things out. I still believe this could be my absolute Dream JOB. My calling! My passion. I would move to this location in a heartbeat and it would work out just fine. I want more talks! Let’s work this out!

Company #2, we’ll call Giant Tech Company, and I had Interview #1 with the hiring manager on Tuesday. I spent several hours prepping for this video call. The “instructions” for the interview told me to prepare for at least 60 minutes, but as it turns out, the hiring manager had a “hard stop” in 30 minutes, so that was all the time we had. Our conversation flowed very well, and I felt like I had a really good rapport with her, but I haven’t heard anything back yet - and this company says it normally will get back to the interviewee in 48 hours…so. Not sure what to think about that. I was thinking that I should likely hear back by the end of today??? We’ll see.

Company #3 is a company that is based in a nearby city, but has a product line that I don’t have much passion for, so I don’t know. I told the recruiter that I’d talk with them, but I’m going to use it as practice and see what comes out of it.

Company #4 is a company that I’d actually forgotten that I’d put in a quickie LinkedIn application and the president of the company contacted me and asked if I was still interested since the job is not remote and I’d have to relocate. I told him that yes, I’m interested and now we are working on a time to talk next week! Their product line is right up my alley, so if nothing works with Companies 1 or 2, this could be something very interesting if the pay is decent and they have some kind of relocation package.

Company #5 is something I’d just heard about recently through Brown Nosey - do you remember her? I worked with her at my last company until she was canned (for being a dick to her boss!). She’s encouraging me to put in an application at her current company, and I’m reluctant for several reasons. Now don’t get me wrong, outside of work, Brown Nosey is a decent person - one I’d even call a friend, but a work she can be super rigid and she is clearly a brown-noser (and tattletale!). And the job is not exactly what I’d love, so I’m hesitating. Still, I should look at this as an opportunity.

So, while I feel like I’m kind of not doing a whole bunch of anything, there are things going on. I guess they are percolating. I just need to somehow make something happen with my top two or get to work on making something even better happen if nothing comes out of those two…

Lots to do, but I’m optimistic!

Better roll. I think the dog needs to go for a walk and it’s gorgeous outside! Nice being able to just get up and take a walk in my neighborhood anytime!

Happy Weekend, friends!
GS


Athena March 18, 2022

Why would it be "bad" if you were enjoying it? Americans are brainwashed into thinking that if we are not doing work we are not "good" and that's simply not true. It's a construct that doesn't exist in many other countries and it makes Americans miserable for the most part. There's nothing "bad" about having some free time, having some downtime to take walks in the gorgeous weather with dogs, explore nearby cities for possibly opportunites, or just nap while you live off severance and unemployment that you paid into the system for nine years.

.allison. Athena ⋅ March 20, 2022

applause!

Jinn March 18, 2022

Happy Weekend! Enjoy your time off now cause I am sure you will be back to work someplace soon !

kashka March 18, 2022

Something great is going to come along. I'm glad you have some exciting opportunities! Devin got fired in a similar manner, at the beginning of the pandemic, after 15ish years with his company. It was deeply upsetting for him too, but ultimately it led to a much much better job (in pay AND passion). I see the same for you!

Also, my company takes an excruciatingly long time to hire people. Even being on the hiring side, it drives me absolutely insane.

bobbi01 March 18, 2022

I think you grieve a bit after redundancy. Lots of exciting options out there for you.

Ginger Snap bobbi01 ⋅ March 18, 2022

You're right. Our jobs are such a huge part of our lives. When we lose them, we lose a piece of us. There's NO way that losing a job in this way isn't an ego blow and a reason to grieve.

Complicated Disaster March 19, 2022

Seems like there's lot's of exciting opportunities out there for you! <3 xx

IpsoFacto March 19, 2022

At one time I was a school administrator and worked for a superintendent who was a cold ruthless son of a bitch. I was a junior high school principal. We were at a meeting of administrators when the superintendent said to the high school principal, “D. Johnson (high school teacher), told an unnamed source here that within two years he’s going to need a liver transplant and he’s going on the wait for the liver transplant list. I don’t know what you have to do but you need to get rid of this teacher this year so start writing him up if he even looks at someone cross eyes. We cannot afford this kind of hit to our insurance premiums. You’ve got to get rid of him. now. Find stuff to write up and then create job targets that you know he can’t meet. “Your situation with your ex job reminds me a lot of this. I haven’t thought about it in years. But the high school principal was making a lot of money and he didn’t want to lose his job so away went the guy in question within that year.

pandora March 20, 2022

I would think it weird if you WEREN'T enjoying this time off. Plus you're working hard towards finding something new - so many opportunities!

plushcreep March 20, 2022

I was let go from one company after working there 10 years. Please don't feel like it's got anything to do with your own self-worth. You'll bounce back and end up better off.

Parliament March 21, 2022

The shame you're feeling at being let go is normal. It'll pass. :-)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.