I mean business. in Whey and Sonic Screwdrivers.

  • Feb. 24, 2022, 11:10 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Apparently. Is that what he said? Felt like that was what he was trying to get across.

Got a slight scratchy throat yesterday, and some nasal congestion that seemed to peak this morning. Made me feel, “Oh, you got to be kidding me.”

2 days out from my cruise, so I went to get tested for the plague this morning. I hit up a drive-thru WalGreens. Didn’t realize it might take longer than 48 hours to get results. It was free, so I just went to an urgent care next door. Pretty much the cost of traveling.

After fifteen minutes in the waiting room, the results came.

I..

am…

NOT PREGNANT!

Such a goddamned relief. I would have been so pissed if I had to cancel my trip because of the plague. So, negative covid test. Arrangements to and from the airport via SIL and wife.
Airk is driving to Florida, so getting to port is solved. Just some nuances left!

I did consider not gymming today. “I don’t neeeed to max out…” As well, I did consider that if I was plague-positive, I would have done the right thing and skipped the gym.

But, with a negative pregnancy result, I felt a bit giddy. Like I wanted to celebrate not being a carrier. Went home, got my stuff together, and to the gym I went. Nice and slow (icy roads, folks).

Warmed up with squats through one plate (135 lbs). The mobility required to ATG* squat makes me feel more warmed up? If you ask five different lifters how to warm up, you’ll get five different answers.

*ATG = ass to grass. This is deeper than a “full squat”, which is generally below parallel. ATG > full > parallel > quarter, etc.

But yeah, I had transitioned to my warm-up deadlifts. Guy said to me how he’d seen me coming in every day, working hard. I really don’t remember what he said, but I got what he was trying to express. That I came in, and meant business. Maybe I look serious, I don’t know. I don’t talk to anyone unless they approach me first.

I let it go to my head - but not too much. My previous recent best was 1 @ 315 lbs. So. I figured 325 lbs for a double. Prior sets were 135/185/225/275/305, nothing fancy. Maybe I could have gone for 335 lbs, but no. I decided to take the victory, “end” on a high note. I can hit 335 lbs next month. Slow, steady progress.

80 lbs and 18 months remain. 4 plates by 40.

Got some work to do when I get back from vacation. 10 lbs at a time. : )

(…Come to think of it, I’m 70 lbs out from squatting 3 plates. But, given one thing to focus on, it’s going to be the deadlift. I’ll think of the squat as a way to build muscle for the deadlift.)


Anyway, who wants to give me a gold star? Always give yourself credit when you can!


Last updated February 24, 2022


PepperGrape February 24, 2022

I would have been PISSED for you had it been positive. Phew!!

Timmy™ PepperGrape ⋅ February 24, 2022

Such a damned relief. Sitting there in the waiting room "Well, what if I AM positive?"

At least there is SOME upside if I were pregnant.

WeAreStarStuff February 24, 2022

⭐️

I’m so glad you’re not preganannnnnaaannagnt.

AnOrangeZebra February 24, 2022

Gold star indeed!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.