My Dad and His in Journal

  • Feb. 18, 2022, 5:40 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

sister are like 2 peas in a pod. My dad is fervently right and my aunt is vehemently left.
I don’t know why it took me so long to piece it together. They’re both very reactive, uncritical to their own biases, and angrily vengeful to anyone “not on their side”. Perhaps because, as with everything parents and where we come from, it is just the cake pan in which we’re baked.
All dad’s are racist right wing crazies… right? Screaming at the TV, listening to AM radio all hours of the day, shouting slurs and epithets. That’s just everyday wholesome American dad.
|
I am reminded of my Aunt because she emailed me recently. She’s sort of an oddball. She’s quite old, 70-something, I don’t remember. Don’t even know the year she was born although I could do the math from the age difference from my dad. Eh.. 48. 74. She’s 74. God, my math brain hurts.
It just occurred to me that she is very likely looking for attention/affection since it was recently her birthday. I never remember which day exactly, just that it’s in February. She has a son that is one year younger than me, and I don’t think he talks to her. Maybe she has been disowned by him, as I’ve disowned my dad. I wouldn’t be very surprised, considering her and my dad share a lot of the same traits.
Anywho. The last time we talked, about a year ago, she was badgering me about politics. Q-Anon this and that and Trump is awful and his followers took over the Capitol for a day. I was like… uh.... I don’t really care.... Can we talk about our family or something we potentially have in common? No. She insisted on talking about politics and garbage about- idk really, how she can only have intelligible conversations with people who agree with her about those things.
Mind you, this was a phone conversation after years of not talking. The last time I saw her was my brother’s wedding. And we didn’t talk.
I didn’t have any way of enforcing my preference to not talk politics. So, eventually I ended the conversation. But, not before voicing a couple of perfunctory facts. Lloyd likely died of drug overdose and not murder. If the summer riots were not prevented or existing laws enforced to protect citizens, I didn’t see any reason to start now to protect gov’t which has no right to protection. After that, she quieted down and agreed to talk about something else. I wasn’t really all that interested by that time, though.
I also wonder to what degree it is an unspoken boundary violation to converse with a disowned parent. I have not spoken, heard from, or even had any knowledge of my cousin (her son) for over a decade. I was 18 the last time I saw him. I think I saw a picture of him awhile ago when my Aunt visited in ‘14/‘15. I wonder how he is. I wonder what he thinks of his mom. I wonder what he thinks of our shared family. Not that there are many of them. I’ve only seen my Aunt and him a handful of times in my entire life. Most of that was before I was 10.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.