I miss how the birds sing north of the Mason-Dixon Line. in The Napkin.

  • Feb. 16, 2022, 9:32 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

So anyway, I was pacing, dragging my feet before hitting the gym. Then I realized, “dude, you’re going on the dreadmill. Just go and pick up this conversation there.”

I doubt I’ll be able to use that logic on a random evening, but this is part of why I do my cardio fasted. Gets me out the door faster.

Just 45 minutes of LISS. I always lowball myself, saying “just twenty minutes”. Because twenty minutes on the dreadmill still counts, folks. Didn’t feel like increasing the speed today. Doesn’t matter, still showed up.

LISS doesn’t give me the same post-workout calm that lifting does. :: shrugs :: Hard to describe. Lifting is more accomplishing something, whereas cardio is just a checkbox. Still do it anyway, good for the heart.


As expected, I feel a bit meh. While I write it down as “fasted cardio”, it’s still basically a rest day from lifting. In terms of fatigue management, I know I need to take two days off so I don’t completely burn out. Week and a half until my vacation. I can burn out next week.

Hrm, thought I had something more to say beyond “lifting was successfully masking my depression.” Nothing dire. Just “…damn it.” If I’m smart, I’ll embrace the mehs. The attitude of “well, if I feel like meh, I might as well do things that I consider meh, since there’s no positive mood to drag down.” If that makes any sense.

Sense of taste is still on vacation. Well, not taste-taste. The feelings of craving specific food. Like, I still haven’t had breakfast, which will be scrambled eggs. I’m sure they will be tasty. But I could just as easily drag my feet. (Exercise is still an appetite suppressant for me.) Yeah, I’m weird.

Actually, to repeat myself, I tend to only get cravings at night, if I get cravings at all. Maybe someday I will experiment with intermittent fasting, but eh. Given that I lift 5 days a week, that’s five days where I’ll be all OMG, I NEED PROFESSIONAL ‘TEINS TO FUEL MAH GAINZ.

“But aren’t you worried about professional ‘teins right now?” Nah. Not as much as I was a decade ago. It’s about a daily average, a weekly average. After all, you grow in your sleep, and last time I checked, I don’t eat in my sleep.

(Yeah, autophagy also happens in our sleep. But when you are skinnyfat, you have to make a choice between dropping bodyfat percentage, or hoping your gainz outpaces your waistline. I think we can agree it is a lot easier psychologically to eat at or above maintenance.)

I have zero sympathy for the boys complaining that they can’t gain weight.

I have a foot to stand on: I used to be one of them. HA HA. Oh, if I could go back in time and smack that poptart out of my mouth.

.....

Oh right. Fuel. Professional ‘teins. If I don’t eat, I’ll die and stuff. I’ll toss in some extra hot sauce, just for you.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.