Property Rights in Journal

  • Feb. 13, 2022, 6:59 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

It has been brought to my attention that I’ve neglected to support my arguments with sound first principles, here. So I’m providing the argument for property rights.
Property rights is the principle of responsibility owned by every individual for their actions, and the effects of their actions.
This is generally upheld in every institution, every culture, and every individual and there are few exceptions. For those few, the counter argument is usually a question of what right one has to claim to unclaimed property. And, this is a valid criticism and one that is at once validated and dismissed by the simple definition of property; property is that which is created by the action of a moral agent.

The argument that I make, which is a criticism of both the classical (irrational) definition of forgiveness, and of religious belief systems as a whole, is that God does not act.


Sleepy-Eyed John February 13, 2022

Okay....

I think I get you. But what does this mean?

Miss Chiffs Manager Sleepy-Eyed John ⋅ February 14, 2022

I am always a little concerned when I get this question.
What do you mean, when asking what does this mean?

I have the basic idea that that which enhances choice and the ability to choose is good. And to seek the enhancement of the ability to choose is virtuous. But I'm not sure that nearly anyone has enough self knowledge or epistemological grounding to know why they do what they do.

Sleepy-Eyed John Miss Chiffs Manager ⋅ February 14, 2022

People make choices before conscious awareness. They've seen this in MRI machines.

I hear ya. I forget what or why I was asking.

There's a book called Behave: The Biology of Humans at their Best and Worst that talks about interplay of biology and neuroscience in human behavior. I want to read it.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.