The Grey Rock Method. in The Napkin.

  • Feb. 3, 2022, 7:09 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Here’s a phrase I ran across at random. In short, it’s boring someone to death to make them lose interest.

This kind of sums up how I deal with my dad to keep the peace.

    Be brief: When communicating with the abusive person, give short answers to questions, such as “yes,” “no,” or “I do not know.”
    Be factual: Use simple, factual statements during conversation and avoid disclosing personal opinions or information unnecessarily. This keeps the conversation impersonal.
    Avoid emotional engagement: This can be difficult, particularly if a person is acting in a threatening or antagonistic way. To remain detached from the conversation, try focusing on breathing, and avoid making eye contact.
    Maintain privacy: Avoid sharing personal information with them, including on social media.

https://www.medicalnewstoday.com/articles/grey-rock

Food for thought, eh?

I’m sure everyone has SOMEONE in their life that makes them go “oh boy, now I have to watch what I say.”


Hey, future me. Context is that episode of TNG when Picard has to stave off an alien who is “programmed” to be the perfect mate. Sticks her with Data as her chaperone, since everyone wants to nail her. By the end of the episode, it’s implied, she intentionally imprinted Picard on herself, and as a result, will in fact be more independent than she would have been otherwise.


It’s funny to say Grey Rock out loud. If you know me well, it’s baffling to think of me as boring. I mean, my life may be mundane, but it doesn’t take much for my powers of association to go zany.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.