Just Curious in Journal

  • Feb. 2, 2022, 5:20 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

For anyone who actually reads this stuff, what do you think when you hear that someone consciously, intentionally doesn’t speak to their parents anymore?

I’m genuinely curious, please answer :)


history of love February 02, 2022

When I didn't speak with my parent (it was about 3 years we didn't speak), I just said "we are not close" and left it at that.
I wouldn't think much of it, there's obviously reasons why people wouldn't speak to family

Sup3rjaw February 02, 2022

I am that person and I think there are very good reasons for it. Often it stems from actual childhood - if someone's parents never really spoke to them when they were a kid, then natural channels of communication aren't open when they transition into adulthood. It also stands to reason that, if this is the case, then those parents don't know their child very well, and this distance is usually perpetuated in adult life, through not showing an interest in their child's life, and not having any involvement either. It causes emotional and physical distance and this can be very difficult to overcome. Ever.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.