UCM. in The Napkin.

  • Jan. 30, 2022, 11:34 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

So, not a secret that I’ve avoided most of Comic Books: The Cashgrab. Oh, not a total boycott - I did see Shazam in theatres and enjoyed it. Just the whole notion of needing to watch thirty something movies to get caught up made me go “Eh, I’ll wait until the hype dies down.”

No, I’m not blind to how I’m versed in Star Trek, which has 13 movies, 8 live action series, 3 animated series, and inside jokes that will make you scratch your head. I just balk at the notion of comic book movies in the first place. On average, you who is going to win. Sure, Batman Begins was a decent film. I caught it on a delay, so I had zero expectations.

Though, for my money, it didn’t have enough batnipples.

alt text

So, I thought of a great way to view these films without the dreaded “Okay, what should I be feeling?”

I could watch them in reverse.

No, seriously.

Fun fact: I saw Return of the King in theatres without seeing the previous two PJ films.

alt text

I enjoyed the hell out of it, and was able to follow the entire plot*.

*Like many, I was very “okay, where did these eagles come from?” In lore, the eagles keep to themselves as humans are stupid and would shoot them for sport. I’ll buy that as an explanation.

But yeah. I’m not attached to the MCU at all. Other than the Red Wedding, I don’t really know any spoilers. We all know the machete* order for Star Wars. If it hasn’t been done before, the UCM Order could be a thing…

*Roughly speaking, IV, V, I, II, II, VI. Though, I’m okay with doing Rogue One, A New Hope, Empire, Phantom Menace, Attack of the Clones, Clone Wars, Revenge of the Sith, and then Return of the Jedi. Because Star Wars ends with Lukey saving the day and finally going to Hitachi Station to get some power converters, right? RIGHT??!!!


Sleepy-Eyed John January 30, 2022

I have barely seen any of those. Don't care either.

Timmy™ Sleepy-Eyed John ⋅ January 31, 2022

It's bizarre how a squirrel seems more real than the people. Maybe my TV is too good, but sheesh, so much of it looked like a PS2 cut-scene.

Sleepy-Eyed John Timmy™ ⋅ January 31, 2022

Don't know what you're talking about. I'm not a fan of CGI though.

Timmy™ Sleepy-Eyed John ⋅ January 31, 2022

It's the difference between practical effects and CGI. It's hard to describe. A CGI squirrel, my mind accepts. A giant green or purple dude made to look humanoid, my mind doesn't accept.

Sleepy-Eyed John Timmy™ ⋅ January 31, 2022

Okay. I don't fully understand but I kinda get you.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.