This Entry Will Not Self-Destruct. in Whey and Sonic Screwdrivers.

  • Jan. 22, 2022, 10:50 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

So, I was entering my local consumable goods emporium when I saw yet another “CDC suggests facemasks” at the entrance. I was just at the gym, where almost nobody wears a mask. Sure, a select few do, and nobody gives them grief. But, a little difference to walk in the grocery store and see the percentage of masked increase.

Because of how my powers of association work, it reminded me of 9/11.

Well, not specifically, but I got your attention.

I’m at the gym, mind wandering. Moving inanimate objects. I shower, I change. I go to the grocery store. I see people wearing masks and am reminded, “Oh. Oh, right. That.”

Mind you, I don’t mind wearing a mask, because I’m not selfish like some republicans are. I’ll come back to that.

See, after 9/11, the national response was to have guys with guns stationed in airports. And frankly: That scared the hell out of me.

Now, this might be a stretch, but I wonder if me being scared of guys with guns is somehow SOMEHOW similar to republicans fearing guys with masks. (Medical masks; they clearly feel safe around KKK masks.)

Except. The point of a mask isn’t entirely to protect you. It’s to protect everyone else. Sure, protecting yourself is a side effect. But, masking and getting vaccinated is more than protecting myself, it’s about protecting my neighbor. About protecting those that are immunocompromised who can’t get vaccinated. To protect those too young to get vaccinated.

Whenever I see someone open carrying a gun, I just assume they have a small penis. They’re not protecting anyone else. They’re protecting their small, small insecure penis.

If airports still have an increase of armed militia, I haven’t noticed in recent years. I’m still annoyed at the TSA’s free prostate exams, but whatever, airports are mostly normal now. The threat that never existed is gone.

Masks remind us all of an invisible threat that is quite real. (Well, invisible to the naked eye. Microscopes are a thing.)

It’s such a mindgame. Even if we know there are no cases, seeing people with masks subconsciously reminds me.

Let us suppose I handed you two glasses of orange juice. One is labeled, “Company A”. The other is labeled “Not Cyanide.”

Yeah. Mindgames.

Anyway, food for thought. I still say the covid kids are definitely to fetishize facemasks. I already know one chick who wore a facemask to get out of wearing makeup. : D


gattaca January 22, 2022

You need a SEM (scanning electron microscope) to see Covid which is 40-80 nanometers.
Tucson (and all of Arizona pretty much) is 'Trumpopolis' and if you wear a mask, you hate Trump (I'm not kidding).
I wear my mask proudly. I also have both jabs and the booster.
The mutations have not started yet. :-)

Timmy™ gattaca ⋅ January 22, 2022

MAGA masks do exist. Geez. They advertise more than those annoying "coexist" bumper stickers.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.