You do you, man. in The Napkin.

  • Jan. 14, 2022, 1:05 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

So, I was in the back of the gym doing farmer’s walks. There’s a guy doing some ab exercise on an apparatus. And he’s audibly breathing “One! Two! Three! Four! Gotta get fit at the gym!” Seconds later, the infamous, “Hello? Hello? Hi…” And then proceeds to hold a normal-volume conversation on his earpiece while exercising. Something about football coaches. Not the first time I’ve heard this guy talk about football coaching at this gym. On his earpiece. While exercising.

Nevermind that verbalizing your repetition count out loud is obnoxious, but this was downright hysterical. I had to roll my eyes a little, and I fathom everyone else in the area did the same. Gosh, I’m not sure whether the counting is worse, or him talking to thin air on his earpiece is worse.

Maybe I’m just olde, but people that do that are SO FREAKING WEIRD. Whatever happened to phone calls being private? Feel like I’ve said that before…

To his credit, he does have results. And cool for him.

But sheesh, he’s who would scare away n00bs from the gym.

Well, at least he wasn’t curling in the squat rack.


I hit the sauna after I showered. Haven’t done that in a while, but eh, enjoy it before it gets Global Warming outside. Random guy struck up a conversation with me. Saw me doing farmer’s walks. Instant “this guy knows what he’s doing” if he knows what farmer’s walks are. Pretty meandering conversation.

Asked me if I follow Westside. Look, I won’t get into Westside Barbell, but that says “this guy REALLY knows his stuff.”

Cool.

Anyway, I was dripping sweat and had to take a second shower. I know it doesn’t actually help your endocrine system, but something about enjoying a cold shower is nice.

Wonder if I should focus more on “that was weird” gym anecdotes or more “this is why I like lifting” anecdotes… We shall see.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.