10 years ago in TIME Flies and other Thoughts

  • Jan. 17, 2022, 12:27 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

..... Wow, it has been 10 years? Even my husband said, “Wow! Really?”
When I think of him, I just smile. What a blessing he was in my life. He was 78ish. (He always thought he would die in his 70’s because his parents did).

I remember when I was like 3 maybe, after I got my hair washed at the kitchen sink, and my hair was in a towel covering my hair, he would pick me up and pretend to throw me out the door saying, “We don’t want no boys”.. I would laugh. That innocent act may have been in part why I acted out when my mom did have a Boy… well and that I was the only spoiled child for 7 years!

My dad and I watched Scary Movies together. They had a TV in their bedroom. That is the only place my dad watched TV. (My mom only watched Tv in the living room). I had a TV in my room too, and I watched all the Tv’s. I remember often asking his feet questions and they would shake yes and no as we kicked back on the bed while we watched tv.

I hung with my dad a lot Like when he went to the hardware store. I helped my dad with yard work. I went with him often when he went to his parents’ house. His dad had an Upholstery Shop, and my dad was a helper… More of the one who picked up and took back the furniture and showed the fabric sample to the people.

After my brother was born my dad spent more time with me since I was super jealous of my brother..
We started going to the local Swimming Pool, around the corner. he would come on the weekends, and we would play in the Family Pool.
We got a Ping-pong Table and put it in the backyard. He would take me to Shoot Pool and to the Wrestling Matches (I liked them until I learned they were fake). He played catch with me in the street and I have a picture of that. He played lots of Board Games with me and I have a picture of us playing “Ka-Boom”.

MY dad and I were in a Parade together in the 70’s as Clowns.

In my young adult years, he taught me Cribbage and we played that every time I came to visit. I now have his Cribbage Board, (he had that set aside when he went into the Hospital).
I have a picture of us playing Cribbage, in-fact a few pictures. One was in 2009, I met them in Phoenix for a week. They stayed at a resort place and had invited me to join them. Another was when his wife was having back surgery in 2010 and we were waiting in the Hospital.

He kept me in line when he lived at home. I had a healthy respect for him.

He liked to sing to ladies, A- you’re adorable, B- you’re so beautiful, C- you’re so cute and full of Charm. He liked to kiss them on the lips! (of gals he knew). I have to say I am sooooo glad he died before this season of life and accusations started. He was such a sweet affectionate man.
But all those drivers on the road were A__ H____! Whenever I hear that word and it is not too often, I think of him! LOL

A Few days before he died, my brother. and I got the wonderful experience of listening to his elementary school friend and him talk about the antics they did.

He loved Bloody Mary’s, but his body didn’t like Alcohol too often. (a Bloody Mary was his last request).
He loved to watch Hallmark Movies.
He had a Laugh I will never forget.
He was a Wonderful Dad!


Hotaru January 17, 2022

He sounds like he was a great dad.

WildflowerHeart January 17, 2022

Does it get easier over time? I lost my dad this past September and I miss him so much every day and it just hurts my heart so much.

ConnieK January 17, 2022

What a beautiful tribute. Loved reading this!

crystal butterfly January 18, 2022

I am glad you have good memories.

Deleted user February 09, 2022

I enjoyed reading your stories about your dad. ;)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.