why do people get uncomfortable when I'm not doing anything? in growing pains

  • Dec. 30, 2021, 12:40 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Sometimes I just like to sit and just be. I don’t want to be using my phone, watching TV, working on my laptop, reading a book, knitting, or whatever. I’m just sitting on a couch and probably thinking about something. But whenever I do this around other people, they assume something’s wrong and get curious or uncomfortable. Invariably, someone around me will ask, “what are you doing?” or “what are you thinking about?” in a concerned tone.

Honestly, it really annoys me, and makes me feel like my behavior is being policed. The subtext is that something is off if I’m not busying myself with something. It makes me feel like I should be keeping busy with something all the time, and that it’s actually weird or indicative of some issue if I’m not doing that.

I’m home with my family over the holidays, and this is something that happens a lot here. When I hear someone approaching the room I’m in, I’ll whip out my phone or laptop and pretend I’ve been on it the whole time, so that they don’t think something’s up. Do you relate to this?


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.