Disparity in anticlimatic

  • Dec. 11, 2021, 12:42 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

When did disparity become a fundamental religious problem? Who would want to live in a bland, hierarchically homogenous society? As though it could stand on its own two feet for more than five seconds before being enslaved by autocrats from elsewhere. I get it. We don’t like to lose; we don’t like to be eaten, taken from, victimized. I don’t particularly care for it either…but I would prefer a world in which I could choose to compete and risk it. The ecstasy of conquest, or at least what I remember of it, was as fine a feeling as any I’ve ever had. An “I am alive” feeling, not so easily replaced.

What happened to our culture? Even people I knew- feral jungle cats in their youths, runners with the moon, players for keeps and for blood- they’ve grown old and neurotic and inward. I am so painfully uninterested in the particular boundaries our zeitgeist currently patrols- they are neither deep, new, or even decentralized to the point of artistic outgrowth. I feel like I’m surrounded by dim church goers, whether they know it or not, hiding out and reciting their various gospels to the setting sun of western civilization.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.