Pretty Lights on the Tree in Life, Liberty and the Pursuit of HAPPINESS

  • Dec. 5, 2021, 7:17 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Everything is great over this way. Currently sitting in my nicely decorate kitchen (Poinsettia’s on the table, Disney Christmas tablecloth, Santa Hat chair covers, tinsel on the walls, and listening to a Disney Themed Station on my Amazon Echo player). The kids are sitting with me. One playing operation working on his fine motor skills (3 year old) and the other playing Cootie and being creative in her bug designs (6 year old).

I’ve really been kicking myself about writing more. 2021 has been such a challenging year obviously. Covid, new job, me catching covid, my anxiety, my depression, ,my daughters ADHD diagnosis, me and my boyfriends issues, my aunt passing away from Covid. I’m not one to rush time along, but I’m ready to feel better! On a positive note, I LOVE THE HOLIDAYS. Ending the year with Christmas cheer is the perfect way to go.

There’s less than two weeks until the semester is over. I cannot wait until my long deserved Winter Break (I work in Education). We have my family’s Christmas party approaching and in typical fashion, it’s all last minute, and no one has exactly chosen a date for it to occur, so that’s just great! My family’s secret Santa’s are my sisters oldest sons father (weird), my sisters oldest sons father’s daughter, my brother’s wifes grandma that has dementia (weird) and my son…whom we will have already shopped for. My mom always wants to include everybody. So, I guess recently my sister and her oldest sons dad have started “co-parenting”, His daughters mother passed away a few years ago, and so my sister has been stepping in to help raise the daughter. This will be both of their first times being in attendance to the party. And while I can understand wanting to include my brother’s wife’s grandma. I really don’t get the point. I don’t know her very well. She’s home and bed ridden and non-verbal at this point, and I don’t know her at all and she won’t even be at the party.

My boyfriends “family” party is a few days before Christmas and we were included in the secret Santa this year. I get to shop for the mom. I put “family” in quotation marks because they’re a friend of his from high schools family. They’ve kind of “adopted” him as their own (only we’re never really included in anything and don’t get asked to come over usually) due to the fact that they were driver’s of the car where he was in the accident that permanently placed him in a wheelchair. Both of his parents are dead, and they step in that role. Kind of (not really). Anyway, their family does secret santa for the adults only I guess and then they buy presents for all the kids. We went last year and because I didn’t really know them then, I was so surprised to find out there were so many gifts for my children. There was a random gift in there for me too that I never opened (a coffee mug and hershey kisses). They bought my boyfriend a coffee mug meant to dip oreo cookies that he used maybe once. I just am not a fan of gifts like that to be honest unless I know that someone is obsessed with that. I’m grateful to have been included so I won’t complain TOO much, but I do think it was something just grabbed as an afterthought. LOL. I’m probably going to buy her some Bath and Body Work’s candles or something because I know that’s what she likes as I’ve seen her post about Bath and Body Work’s on facebook.

My daughter wants to go shopping for a gift for her 1st grade teacher. She wants to get her a nice pink notebook and a pin. She said that her teacher likes pink. Her teacher has been great this year, and we just love her!

Since PS5’s are still NEARLY impossible to snag, I have to think of something else for my boyfriend.

I still need to shop for my mom.

And my kids.

I was really banking on taking my kids on a vacation on Christmas and starting a new tradition. However, with the ways of the world and all of the things going on with Covid, I made the decision that we’ll stay home…but now I’m behind in my shopping! I’m just grabbing things at this point.

My daughter started basketball last week! The games will start after the holidays.

I’m going to have to figure out how to post photo’s on here, I would love to show you all my Holiday DECOR! Even my bathroom and the kids’ bedroom are decorated!


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.