Craft shows in Bittersweet

  • Dec. 5, 2021, 10:17 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

This will prob be my last entry for a week lol. Writing after work is too hard. Just too much to do when I get home. I know i wrote three times this week and that is a ton!
Anyway, Yesterday we hit up the local craft shows and im… really let down. I asked on facebook and they told me these two were HUGE. I mean the one had maybe 30 vendors, the other was more interesting but maybe 20 vendors. Not a huge pull by my count. Ive been to huge ones with a hundred plus vendors. There wasnt much verity. I was hoping to find some handmade bath things for my secret santa. But I couldent find anything. Not ONE booth had home made soap! I did buy some goats milk lotion and may split the bottle into a smaller one ( in case she dosent like the interesting scent honey and almonds, Its quite sweet) But its not greasy so that is nice too. We also stopped at a jam booth and bought 5 jars of jam. Cottage licenseing only allows for half pint jars. ( At 8 a jar, its pretty expensive!) But we got a 5 flavors. Including garlic which is for savory cooking of course. Sweet garlic. And strawberry jalapeno for the 17 yo.
Yes my two older boys wanted to go with haha. So they went to 4 craft shows with us. In the end I decided that im going to make some soap myself ( I wanted some fancier then the ones I make) And maybe ill use some of my Utah salt rock and make some salt scrub for her too.

I didnt see any booths with handmade yarns, or hand dyed yarns. Some crochet things. But nothing like what i do… So im going to get a booth at some for weekends next year I think. I could use extra money lol. It takes energy, so im hoping I can do it. On top of work. Its hard!

My parents are coming into town. THey mailed us a perscription for me to fill for them, and the money to pick it up. And it never showed up. Monday will be 2 weeks. We have to assume that it was stolen. So they are coming in, to go to the doctor and get a new one.

My grandpa has been in the hospital. He had a quad bypass and then his kidneys failed. So hes in the hospital and they were going to come down for Christmas. Now they are here now and i highly doubt will be back for Christmas. They will be taking care of grandpa. I think he needs a nursing home. He needs 24 hr assistance. He cant ever be alone now. he needs dialysis 3 times a week coupled with the dementia. He needs more care now then they can give. They say they are going to look for one.... We will see. My mom is already super stressed out over taking care of him the last couple of weeks. Its not like shes young either! Shes in her 60s. They will see the dr and prob head back in a couple of days… I have no idea if they are bringing their camper or will just get a hotel. Unfortunately B tore apart his car, right where they park their camper. And i still havent finished their camper pillow. lol. Oopse. Damn it haha. So far I knit headbands for my secret santa, little girl and Im going to make one for my boss and one for one of my favorite therapists. I wish I had time to do something for everyone. But i dont. Oh and i made the gloves for my receptionist.

For now, the tree is up. The stockings are up. T let me buy a few small decorations to add to our tiny pile this year. All of my yarn stuff is packed away. I mean ALL of it. We found some moths in the house so its ALL packed up. And outside in case it freezes so they can die a fast death lol. I threw some things away. Most i think is savable. Fingers crossed. Some may be still going into the trash.

I best get off here. The parrots are awake and yelling at me they need breakfast. Spoiled birbies.


Jinn December 06, 2021

You could probably clean up if you had a booth :-)

Small Town Girl December 11, 2021

Sounds like a lot of stress! Hoping for the best with your grandpa!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.