You were wasted there. in Bittersweet

  • Nov. 30, 2021, 11:10 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

My boss and I had a few minute conversation today. I asked to adjust my hours from 8-5 to 8-430 and only take a half hour lunch. Which she agreed to. But she made a comment to me that really makes me feel so good. It came about because I mentioned while going through all of our personally files that i found my reference checks. both of which said i need patience because im not very adaptable and have a hard time learning new things. Which i laughed about because i trained both of them! And anyone who really knows me, knows i roll amazingly with everything. So then she said how she thought that was funny too because not only have i learned all these new programs super fast but im teaching how to use them to multiple people. She said I must have been so stifled and held back. They didnt use my potential at all in my previous job. They kept people in boxes and never let them really branch out to do what they COULD do. Which is true. I said how i preferred where im at now. My job is so varied. The last two days ive been “collections” and calling clients to let them know their payments arent clearing. Im emotional support and office assistance. personal assistant, HR, payroll, authorized user on her bank accounts, have my own company card lol. But she said I was wasted there. And here. I have so much opportunity to do so many things.
No its not perfect. and i hate a 20-30 minute commute. I would love a higher pay rate. But im not going to complain in the least. She gives me so much leniency! I get all sorts of perks. I can fiddle on my phone, i can do so many jobs. I can come in late because of doctor appointments. I can comp time to make up for that. Ive been so damn lucky.
I love my co workers. No i dont get as much interaction, thats for sure. Im not as lively and outgoing. But i have some opportunity to chat and visit. But i have tons of chances to be useful and learn new things. Its a bit sad when I go into my old job and try to visit with people and less and less they are interested in anything going on with me. I ask how this or that is going. Keeping up on ones college, how things are going. But i guess its the natural progression of things. I didnt go into the boyfriend drama from the kid I worked with. But it ended with him in the military and her crying on my couch because he didnt love her the way she loved him. That was hard and rough. But shes 17 and needs a mom. Ive been invited to play corn hole a few times with my co worker. I guess its some kind of skiball game maybe? Ish? Like a bean bag toss lol. Im trying to convince tony to try it out this spring. I dont want to play outside in the dark. My boss and I have a lot in common. Our interests are similar. She likes to crochet and photography and some crafty things too. Not as involved as I am haha but some things. Which is nice! We spent 2 hours doll and dress shopping for her new doll. ( to use for photos) So that was hilarious.

We are still considering moving again. But it wont be for a couple of years. So this job is my home unless something happens. I want to stay and be happy there. Not feel buckled down or miserable… And im making it my home. They are embracing me and im loving being a part of what they do there. Except maybe calling people to say hey your card has been declined 3 times, I need a new form of payment by Friday or we are firing you… sorry…

Anyway, I gotta go to bed for my nightly insomnia ticktock spree… followed by some of my favorite you tubers ( rapunzels and historical seamstresses) And do it again tomorrow morning lol.


Small Town Girl November 30, 2021

I'm so glad you like it and they are utilizing you! I wish I was being utilized!! I'm a but jelly of your situation!! But I am so glad you got out of your toxic job!

ChainedChrysalis Small Town Girl ⋅ December 01, 2021

But its only 15 an hr. So thats a bit of a downer. The husband makes up for 2/3rds of the income at minimum, maybe 3/4ths lol. But i totally understand. I wish your new job was more ideal for you. You need a win!

Small Town Girl ChainedChrysalis ⋅ December 01, 2021

I hear that. Mine is 17/hr and I'd really like 20. It's rough on your own.

ChainedChrysalis Small Town Girl ⋅ December 01, 2021

It rough for most everyone now. Co has a higher cost of living then i would have liked. More taxes. You really need to make 30 an hr to be a single person here. Which is crazy!! We all need to move to bum fuck alabama...

Small Town Girl ChainedChrysalis ⋅ December 01, 2021

Right!!!! I've been thinking about it. Someplace the California's won't move to and Jack up the cost if living so that leaves bum fuck Alabama and bum fuck Mississippi I guess!!

ChainedChrysalis Small Town Girl ⋅ December 02, 2021

I think we are talking about New Hampshire for their laws haha.

Deleted user December 01, 2021

Saw you on the front page. Isn't it something how people assign character flaws to the bright person for being bright and wanting to grow? Glad you don't have to deal with that anymore.

ChainedChrysalis Deleted user ⋅ December 01, 2021

Your right. It is kinda interesting. I guess i see my bosses point about how they dont want people to reach and grow, they really just want bodies to be drones to do the job. Not feel anything, not try to do better. Just to drone. And some people love that kind of work and thrive in the environment but they do it by gaining some kind of power and act like they have power. Wheres the contrast in my job now. We have licensed therapists with 20 to 40 years of school behind them, and me being there for 3 months is on equal footing. No one person is better then any one else. We have weekly staff meetings where everyone has a voice, everyones opinions count. Like today, one of our newer therapists mentioned how she has been struggling with who to ask her questions and if she could basically Book time with me a few times a week to ask her questions. And an hour later the CEO, my boss, emails me with we are going to set up a new orientation committee so we need to sit down and chat about this!
So from the newest person, to the owner, we all get a voice and opinions are taken into account. Its so harmonious. Conflicts are expected to be addressed right away and handled like adults... I guess working with 20 therapists does that lol. If you are having a hard day they sense it, and everyone works to build you up. The thank yous are endless. The appreciation is so real... Its such an ideal situation.

music & dogs & wine December 01, 2021

Your job sounds a lot like mine! Nice compliment from your boss, always awesome to know they think highly of you!

ChainedChrysalis music & dogs & wine ⋅ December 01, 2021

I feel extremely valued there. And that makes all the difference in your emotional state. Its amazing how it works when you are treated like an adult. One is productive and enjoys giving back to the group as a whole... I tend to bake and bring treats in lol. And im about to make a whole lot of christmas gifts!

music & dogs & wine ChainedChrysalis ⋅ December 01, 2021

That's awesome!

Jinn December 02, 2021

I am so glad you got such a great job !

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.