A Good Day. in The Napkin.

  • Nov. 5, 2021, 4:04 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

So, I had my first day of workies at the new job today. In reflecting, I’d say it was one of the best first days of work I’ve ever had. With one exception.

Now, why am I saying it was good? I’m thinking of my anxiety level in the past on that first day of actual work. Because today did have actual work. The orientation was a speedrun, and then bam, actual work. I’m thinking back to so many jobs in the past. The fear, the uncertainty. I like solitary work, but I was actually checked in on enough times that I didn’t feel alone.

My last job, I was utterly overwhelmed on my first day of actual work. And so many jobs in the past, I’d feel unsure of myself. Nervous. Anxious. Other than some small nuances, I wasn’t perturbed much today.

And, this might sound like a strange positive, but there’s no music. I didn’t even notice until a bit into my shift. I’ve had so many places where either the job is playing music, or someone on shift is playing music.

I don’t need to tell you about auditory association. Hearing that music as you’re trying to fall asleep. Or hearing a random song in public and suddenly feeling like you’re at work.

It was… relatively quiet. It’s no secret I have cyclic thoughts, but my mind didn’t wander except for one small detail.

See… my underwear was apparently a little loose. (They’ll be retired.) So, for the entire shift, I could feel my scrotum against my legs. Every time I moved, “Yup, themz mah ballz.”

I seriously do NOT understand guys who wear boxers. I mean, if you’re a guy with a vulva, cool. Gosh, I’m sure there are small scenarios where you become aware of one of your labia requiring adjusting, but on average, I fathom you can wear boxers or go commando without being painfully aware of your vulva.

Heh, I’m theorizing that my love of my balls is partly why my readership has dropped. ; )

If nothing else, this helps me relate to why ladies would choose TO adorn themselves with a brassiere, rather than free-boob. Your average boobs are generally bigger than balls.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.