Fixed up in Vulnerability

  • Oct. 20, 2021, 12:35 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’m back from the dentist. Yesterday wasn’t even fucking mentioned. Probably a good thing, as I had my receipts and the appointment card ready to throw at them and yell, “WHAT WAS THE POINT OF GIVING ME THIS THEN!?”
Anyway, I’d calmed down enough by the time 3pm rolled around that I made it to the appointment. Thankfully this one was STILL IN THEIR FUCKING SYSTEM! Soz, you can probably tell I’m more than a little peeved off by what happened yesterday.
Anyway, it took quite a while, as I suspected - a little over an hour to remove and replace two fillings that the other dentist fucked up. And I could feel he was testing the floss very thoroughly, which was good. It definitely felt better than before, which was basically nothing because I could barely floss at all. Afterwards, he told me that it’ll bleed for about two weeks but then eventually settle down, because my gums there “aren’t great” due to 10 months of being unable to floss properly there. Ergh. Anyway, it came to $460 and my gap was $180, so with my clean last week, that’s about the cost of my health insurance, which will probably be worth it the next time I go in for a clean. I’m still a bit confused though, as the other dentist said I needed a crown, but this dentist didn’t even mention it, and he has the more recent X-ray. So was the other dentist bullshitting for money, or do I actually need that expensive crown? She’d told me ‘the sooner the better’ but now I’m wondering if I can go another six months until the next check-up. Anyway, I’m just glad that damn filling(s) is fixed. I’m pretty sure it was two because the filling next to it had been fucked up also. I’ll finally be able to floss again properly. That gum won’t know what hit it.

In other news, my parents hometown had a TORNADO two days ago. It’s still Spring here, but the Summer storms are coming early. It was some wild weather on Monday, and I texted mum to ask if they were safe. I saw online that the tornado briefly touched down outside of the town and went right back up again into the clouds, but someone got a photo, and man, that is scary shit for out there, because we aren’t the southern USA and we don’t get tornados! I’ve never heard of one happening in my entire life, but here we are, getting one. Thankfully it didn’t go through the town. But you know, our Prime Minister doesn’t even have an emissions plan and is probably rocking up to the climate change conference in Scotland with a lump of fucking coal. I’ve never seen a more out of touch government. You’d think devastating bushfires, floods and tornados happening in a country that doesn’t get tornados would be enough to make one start singing “

”.
Anyway, mother-dearest replied saying they were OUT DRIVING! I was like, ‘Umm, you DO realize there’s a tornado, right?” but my typical parents were still out on one of their retirement road-trips. It looks like they are on another ‘tag-a-long tour’ which is where a bunch of people follow certain musicians around the countryside and basically tour with them. My parents have been doing that for years, and it sounds like an interesting concept. Of course I’ve never heard of the artists playing in the tag-a-long, but it’s been going for years and both of my parents seem to love it - so much so that a freaking TORNADO doesn’t stop them from going!
Mum was saying it was meant to be a 3-hour trip but had taken them 7-hours so far. Way to freak me out, mother!
And to make matters worse, according to all the storm-warnings coming through online from BOM and Higgins Storm Chasing, it looked like the storms were striking in the areas they were driving through or heading towards!
So basically, I have no idea if my parents are still alive or not lol. Mum does post on her Facebook photos of her adventures and it makes me smile seeing them living up the retirement life. She’s always checking into towns in my state I’ve never heard of. Usually of some musician singing on stage.

I’m going to go to gym soon but I’m awaiting the numbness to wear off a little. I think it’ll be busy. I didn’t get to see Hershey the dog this time, but I did find out the dentist lives in Norman Park, so now I’ve just got to stalk out where so I can be a Peeping Tom :P I’m sure he’d love to see me after inspecting my gross teeth for the past hour.

I started learning to dance. Sort of, ha! I was inspired by an entry here so thought I’d Youtube some basics. I move the sofa around the draw the blinds and cast Youtube to the TV. I’d feel absolutely stupid taking a class, so I’m doing what I do with everything else in my life and doing it myself. I’ve done two so far and I have a loooooong way to go. I still feel stupid and can’t keep up with her when she puts all the moves together, but I like how much she repeats things, because obviously I am a slow and hopeless learner. Anyway, it was cool doing a few basic steps and trying to make sense of what co-ordination is meant to look like :P
She said the number 1 tip she can give is to look at dancers who inspire you. Well, I already do that with Bailey posting stuff most days - that boy can move. And then it didn’t help today when Sydney-crush-Luke uploaded a video of him doing a handstand from a middle-split position. My God, talk about impressive and sending my mind to the gutter at the same time. Of course, then I was Youtubing how to do the splits, but I think I should focus on one thing at a time haha. I need to try and stay focused on this dance thing (I mean, gym’s going well, so why can’t dance?), but I’m only going to be able to do it on my days off when my housemate is at work, as was the case this week, and of course I didn’t get that far - more an awareness that everyone started where I am at one point in time, and that I am certainly not very co-ordinated right now haha. Another pro towards why I should try getting a place of my own next year. I could learn every day without being worried a housemate will come home. So much to think about. Would I need a second job to afford it? Probably once I realize how hard it’ll be.
They are talking about house prices here hitting $1Million in the lead-up to the Olympics. Greeeeeeeeat.

Anyway, I think that’s all I wanted to write about.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.